Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. Like a lot of the other reviews stated, the sauce makes the dish. I enjoyed the crunchiness of the pork chops. It reminded me of a Japanese restaurant I went to a few years back. I have been searching for that flavor for a while and I am glad that I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickyEater1080

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
It was good but adding garlic makes the mix really hard to stick to the meat, so I had to add 2 more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe is just okay. I loved the panko crumbs, but that doesn't make the taste. I used the Tonkatsu Sauce recipe aforementioned,and my husband LOVED the sauce. We just found that it was bland. If the recipe had included the sauce I would have given 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Finally I went & bought some panko crumbs to try this recipe. I am converted! They are so good!!! The panko crumb coating was lovely & crisp & light. However I thought the actual pork was rather bland. A sauce with this dish is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
My family's been making pork katsu as long as I can remember, so here's a tip since the recipe doesn't mention it: pound the meat! It makes all the difference in texture and tenderness. Serving tonkatsu sauce is a must as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFDOG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Very bland, need more spice or something. With tonkatsu sauce, it was ok but I won't try this one again, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
The first time I made these chops they were okay, but with a couple of tweaks, these pork chops are terrific! The second time I prepared them, I seasoned the pork chops with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. I also cooked the chops at a lower temperature (medium high) to prevent burning. Finally, I served them with a sweet and slightly spicy sauce found here on allrecipes (1/2 cup orange marmalade, 1/4 cup Dijon mustard, 1/4 cup honey, and 1/4 teaspoon hot sauce). If you're using a thick cut pork chop, I suggest pounding it to make it thinner or placing the thick pork chops in the oven to finish cooking after browning. All in all, this recipe is a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Made twice and find the breading is much soggier than I would like. Also, easy to burn. Will continue to tweak as I really like this style pork chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I make this all the time. The panko definately adds much more crunch and texture than regular bread crumbs. Make sure that your pork is sliced thin otherwise the outside will be "really done" and the middle will be still pink. Nice idea, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
my family and I loved this recipe. It kind of taste like salt and pepper porkchops. You definately need to use thin pork chops to get it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vita Collaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States