Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
We enjoyed this recipe by borrowing others' suggestions for seasoning, but it would have been bland as written. Also, I needed considerably more breadcrumbs & egg mixture to coat my pork chops; also had to lower the temperature to avoid burning. So, while I think the recipe could use some work, I'm really happy with the idea and we did enjoy the meal. Probably won't make this often due to the calorie count, but it was a fun change from our usual. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Overall I thought this recipe was ok. I think I should have used a thinner slice of pork. I had a difficult time getting it cooked thoroughly. However, the texture was great :D. Classic panko crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is a good recipe....I just want to share a great sauce which went great with it: Japanese brand Bulldog sauce with mayo-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Yummyyyy!! This is not that healthy, because it's being deep friend, and let's face it... that's not so good. But it's so yummy it's worth it! Just maybe not everyday. I once read that onion tends to cut down oil, so when you're eating something oily you should eat it with onion, so i sautee some onions with soy sauce or some other sauce and we eat that with this too... Or i try to add onion to a salad we're eating and then hubby and i try not to talk directly to each other for the rest of the night. Hehe. Looove love! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Yum! This was a hit. It was easy to make. Instead of minced garlic, I used garlic powder. Also, as others have stated, you need more eggs. The panko made it so crispy and delicious. I will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made the recipe as it stated except I used olive oil. I thought it was very easy to make, the crunch was great, the taste ok - bland for me, but better once dipped in a spiced peanut sauce (the stores did not have the sauce mentioned). I think it would probably be best if more spice were added to the cutlet before dredging. I read that authentic variations on tonkatsu include sandwiching an ingredient like cheese or shiso leaf between the meat, and then breading and frying; In Waseda, Tokyo, a restaurant serves a tonkatsu with a bar of chocolate sandwiched inside. Authentic recipes also call for all purpose flour dredging before dredging in the egg and panko. That makes sense to me because the panko is thick and dipping it twice (as the recipe here calls for) makes it too thick really - especially if you let it sit for a few minutes as the recipe calls for and if too thick, it will fall off the chop after cooked. If you are new to cooking, I would start out with your thickest chop and cut it open before removing from heat to make sure it is done because cook time will vary - pork and eggs are not things you want undercooked. I doubt I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Even though the egg mixture is already seasoned with salt and pepper, I also seasoned the chicken separately with garlic salt/pepper prior to dipping. Like others have said - pound the meat!! The egg mixture wasn't enough for my 4 chicken breasts, so I had to double the mixture. Ate it with the Kikkoman brand Tonkatsu sauce that you can find at most markets. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
LOVE IT!! We make this all the time. Everytime we go to a Japanese restaurant one or both of us would always order tonkatsu and pay at least 12 bucks or more for it. This taste just like the ones we had at the restaurants and cost hardly anything! We use Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce recipe for the tonkatsu sauce. This is one of my husbands most requested dinners now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Oh YUM! To be honest- this is my first experience frying something for real- in a frying pan. It was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. The secret may be in the thinness of the pork chops. Also- we put some tonkatsu sauce on them once served. But some we just put a little lemon juice on- both were delicious! Served over a bed of rice with a side of fresh steamed broccoli. I will make this recipe OFTEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCoorishii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I thought these tasted great!! But, the egg mixture and the panko crumbs were only enough for 4 of my pork chops. Maybe I did something wrong, but it came out fine and that's all that matters! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States