Tom's Blackened Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very good, Very authentic. Added a little more heat as is our preferrence but this is the base recipe that I have adopted and change as mood reflects
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
It's the perfect blackening mixture!! Had it on Salmon. I also reduced the sugar to about a tsp and found that to be just right. Have shared the recipe with 3 other people already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I had never "blackened" anything before and was skeptical at the beginning because it smells strange when it starts to cook, but the end result was delicious. I can't wait to experiment with this seasoning again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TalaSunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I have never had anything blackened, but my husband and son love blackened fish, so i gave it a try. The only change I made was to reduce the salt to 1 tsp. I have to say this will now be served on a regular basis at my house! It is a great seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin mix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I'm only giving this one two stars because its basically the same rub as the one used for Herb Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast. It was good, but tasted the same, even with the difference of nutmeg, sugar, and cumin. Those are some expensive spices! The amounts vary between the recipes, obviously, because one is meant for a single roast and the other is meant to be stored. Save yourself the trouble and costs of extra ingredients and stick to the Sirloin rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I did adjust the salt just a bit because we're watching our sodium intake. This was just what I needed, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
We used halibut with this recipe and cooked it on a really hot cast iron griddle. The result was fantastic. I had cut the fist into strips and we put them into fish tacos when it was all done. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Oh my goodness, thes was AMAZING. Tried it tonight with some chicken tenders - sauted in skillet with small amount of olive oil. Also cooked some white fish (Swai) using the seasoning. WONDERFUL!!! Tasted like something from a really nice restaraunt. Highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
We enjoyed this for our blackened halibut...without the sugar and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
We use this on so many things....I am constantly referring to the recipe to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States