Tom's Blackened Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I love to make up a big batch - I love to mix it with flour (about half and half), coat tilapia sprinkled with lime juice and salt and pepper, and pan fry it. Top with lime zest and a lime and chiplole "crema". Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
never had anything blackened before so i can't compare, but it was a very tasty blend. we used it on alligator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I do not know enough to know what is "authentic" in a Blackening Mix and what is not but I do know I liked the taste of this blend. I wanted to blacken tilapia and decided to use this recipe and was happy I did. I only used 1 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar just because I wasn't sure about using a full tablespoon. I wanted to use the sugar because the submitter noted it carmalized and this was appealing to me. I'm looking forward now to using this often. Thanks Tom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very good rub on Swordfish. I brushed olive oil on swordfish steaks and sprinkled this rub on fish. Marinated for 30 minutes and then grilled. Very nice depth of flavor and spicy. Perfect for Swordfish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jheni77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This is the second time I've made this and it's better, hands down, than any pre-mixed blackening seasoning I've ever bought. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Thanks, Tom! Now I don't have to buy expensive spice mixes. We've used this on fish and chicken breasts and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was delicious seasoning..I tried on red fish first and it was not a good type of fish. I then tried chicken..absolutely delicious...and the shrimp was to die for. Tonights catfish was just as delicious too. I used the recipe as is other than cayenne which was reduced to half...and it was perfect. (Not so hot you lose taste but spicy...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I have never had anything blackened, but my husband and son love blackened fish, so i gave it a try. The only change I made was to reduce the salt to 1 tsp. I have to say this will now be served on a regular basis at my house! It is a great seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin mix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I did adjust the salt just a bit because we're watching our sodium intake. This was just what I needed, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
We use this on so many things....I am constantly referring to the recipe to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States