Tommy's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I used suggestions from many different people to make this a tasty recipe. I cooked celery, onion, and fresh mushrooms in some marg. and added it to the pasta. I also stirred some seasoned pepper, thyme, garlic, parsley, oregano, and seasoned salt into the veg. while they were cooking. I used a full can of milk and added some lt. sour cream to the soup mixture. For the chz., I used about a cup of mild cheddar and a cup of sharp cheddar (both reduced fat). For the topping, I mixed seasoned breadcrumbs with saltine crackers and about two tablespoons of marg. I also sprinkled a little sharp cheese under the topping. This filled a 9x13 pan. My husband loved this and went back for seconds. I definately recommend making changes to the original recipe to jazz it up, otherwise this would be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was really good, but I did alter the recipe slightly. I sauteed a medium sized onion along with 1 clove of garlic and added that to the cheese sauce. The only change I made to the cheese sauce was to add 1 tsp of dry mustard powder. I cooked 4 cups of macaroni as suggested by other reviewers and I also added about 1-1.5 cups of diced leftover ham. Lastly, instead of breadcrumbs for the topping, I crushed up some Ritz crackers, mixed with some shredded cheddar cheese and dumped a few tablespoons of melted butter of the top; this is a fabulous topping that my mother uses when she makes mac & cheese. The dish turned out really, really good...but I think next time I make it, I will add 3 cups of macaroni only, DH and I would like the cheese sauce a little more moist, but this is only a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Wow, this was a great comfort food casserole, so quick and easy. I followed previous suggestions and my own ideas. I used 4 cups macaroni, 2 cups shredded SHARP Cheddar cheese, the regular cream of mushroom (NOT fat free/low fat), used a WHOLE can of milk, added 1/4 cup my favorite grainy mustard (per previous suggestions), baked 15 minutes and then added my version of the bread crumbs for the last 15 minutes. For the topping I used 1/4 cup Italian bread crumbs, 10 crushed saltines, 1/4 cup (will use 1/2 cup next time), and moistened with 1 tablespoon vegetable oil (could use melted butter). This was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This recipe was very good...however, I added a few "extras" to ensure that the casserole would be a success. I added a 1/2 tsp. of garlic salt, a 1/2 tsp. of pepper, used about 1/2 cup of low-fat sour cream, 3 tbsp. of low-fat mayo, and 1/2 cup of swiss cheese. The end result was magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Modify the recipe as follows: Use 3 cups macaroni, 1 1/2 cups ham, Ritz crackers (or the like) mixed with a bit of Parmesan to top it off, a whole can of milk, increase cheese to 2 cups and add an additional 1/2 can of Cream of Celery soup. Also add vegetable - I love this with broccoli or asparagus, but corn, carrots, mushrooms, etc...all work well. Note that if you use potatoes you will need to increase the amount of liquid to suit to absorbtion. I also add seasonings, including garlic, thyme, marjoram and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
I can not believe how many people are saying it is good. Ham dinner leftovers deserve much better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRVGRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This was a pretty good way to help get rid of all our ham leftovers. I followed some previous suggestions and included a bag of frozen broccoli - this was a very good suggestion to round out the meal. We also included more milk as some previous posters suggested but when we make it again, I think I'll stick with the 1 cup like the recipe recommends (just too milky for our tastes). We did include more cheese, but we're cheese-lovers so we do that most of the time. I can see where the 1/4 cup of dijonaise mustard would add some extra kick. We might try that next time. Definitely a tasty way to re-do the ham, overall! I think this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
Great recipe for a busy household. I think next time I will add some frozen peas to make a complete meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
this was good. I added 1/4 cup of dijonnaise to it. My kids loved it and I got left overs. I am definately going to make this with leftover easter ham. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Easy to make, delicious and followed suggestion to add onion, garlic and extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States