Tommy's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I sauteed and added 1/2 diced medium onion, 1 sliced large celery stalk, and 1/4 c diced mushrooms. I also added 3 tbsp fat free sour cream. I used 1 whole cup of milk rather than the 1/2 and used 2 cups of cheee total. 1 c. skim mozzerella, 1 c. sharp cheddar. I used 1/4 c ritz crackers, 1/4 cup Panko, and 1/4 c. seasoned italian breadcrumbs for the topping. I baked under foil for 15 minutes without topping, and 15 minutes uncovered with topping. I thought that this recipe was just so/so. It tastes like ham and cheese. I would have added potatoes or some extra ingredient to jazz it up a little. It wasn't bad by any means, just not anything spectacular. NOTE: This recipe makes a HUGE amount of casserole. It's far more than 12 servings, in my opinion. More like 18ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Well, I made this with my leftover ham. Made some adjustments as others suggested: included 1 cup ea. sauteed onion and celery; used 2 cans cream of mushroom soup mixed with 1/2 soup can of milk (plus a few extra TBS of milk); pinch of garlic powder; dash of pepper; small squeeze of spicy brown mustard. For the cheese - I used 1 cup shredded cheddar, and 1 cup shredded pepper jack. I also used crushed Ritz crackers on top of the casserole. When it was done, I tasted it before taking out of my roaster oven. Fantastic! BUT.... when I removed it from the roaster, my casserole dish slipped from my hands, and down went the casserole all over my kitchen floor! What a mess, coupled with breaking my favorite dish!! Glad I was able to taste it before it ended up all over the floor!! I think the pepper jack cheese gave it the extra "zing" that some reviewers said it needs. I will be making this again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I used 2 cups macaroni. Also saute the cooked ham,onion,garlic,1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 1/2 cups of milk,canned mushroom(all I had) and mozzerella cheese(all I had)till a boil,then tossed in the macaroni and transfered to dish and baked as followed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I also took the advice from the others who have rated this recipe and "spiced" it up.... I do have to agree that I should have used 2 cans of milk and/or more sour cream as it did turn out a little on the dry side.... a VERY easy and tasty solution to left-over ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
this was very good. i sauted an onion in some EVOO, added some sour cream, garlic powder and some frozen peas. the topping i used ritz crackers mixed with some parmesean cheese. also added more milk to the mix. YUMMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wright City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is the best ham casserole ever!!! My picky 10 y/o loved it!!! I did add a few things like everybody else did. Sour cream, Cooked onions, garlic, 2 cups of med. ch cheese,& plenty of pepper. I also used 25% less sod. Cream of Mushroom and it still tasted GREAT!! This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Added more cheese, peas, and sauteed mushrooms; got RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Good recipe, made several changes...more chz, more milk, added sliced sauteed port. mushrooms, added sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This recipe was a great way to use leftover Easter ham. I didn't have cream of mushroom, so I used cream of chicken soup. I also added about two tablespoons of melted butter to the bread crumbs.I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
turned out great! i also added garlic powder, sour cream & minced onion sprinkled parmaesean on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States