Tommy's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I liked this one, but tweaked it with a few of the suggestions from other reviews, and added a couple of my own. I used 3/4 cup milk, 3 cups of rotini, instead of the pasta suggested, a half can of peas, sauteed onions and garlic, and 6 chopped jalapenos. To make it less fattening, I used 1% milk, 3/4 cup shredded fat-free mozzarella, and a 1/4 2% shredded cheddar, and whole wheat pasta. My parents and husband really liked it, and the jalapenos gave it the extra kick it needed. We also used country salted ham that we had left over from Christmas...this was not lean, but it was all we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Very good! My 18 year old daughter and I loved it. I followed the recipe, but added 1 cup finely shredded cheddar (instead of 3/4 cup), and used an entire small carton (1/2 pint) of heavy whipping cream instead of can milk. I also added 1/2 tsp of garlic salt. After 20 minutes of baking, I used the topping suggested by another reviewer (Town House crackers crumbed with some finely shredded cheddar cheese mixed in. Once I put the topping on, I poured on about 1/2 stick of melted butter and continued baking 10 minutes, uncovered!) Yummy! I will continue making this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Grande Moen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I always make this to use up leftover Christmas ham. We like this recipe, but only with modifications. As written, it's very plain. This is what I do: Sauteed half an onion in some butter, then added the ham (about 1 1/2 cups), 4 oz. cubed cream cheese, and about 1/2 cup frozen peas. I seasoned this mixture with a little salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, and hot pepper flakes. I then combined cream of mushroom soup with 1 c. milk and 1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese in a big bowl, and added the ham mixture and cooked penne pasta to the soup mixture, mixed, poured into casserole and baked in 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a quick easy recipe. I did add peas, onions, lots of black pepper, and french's dried onion. Also left ou the bread crumbs and just used ritz cracker crumbs. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Had leftover ham and was looking for something the whole family would like. After reading some reviews I added garlic salt, mustard, a little extra milk, and some sour cream. This was a very bland dish. My family didn't care for it. Will save my ham leftovers for something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Followed the recipe pretty closely and it turned out great, the family loved it. I added one thing that I hadnt seen yet. Banana Peppers (or Pepperchini's, depending on where you live) and it added an extra kick, plus the flavors blended wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Finally something actually quick and tasty! I followed the recipe exactly and the family loved it. I will be making this again for sure, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Edited this recipe to accommodate leftovers from Thanksgiving. I took out the can of milk and can of mushroom soup and instead used about 2 1/2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes with butternut squash . I also added a can of corn and 3 stalks chopped celery. Followed everything else-GREAT for leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this tonight and it was awesome. I used 2 cups of mild cheddar cheese, 2 cans of mushroom soup, 1 cup regular milk, one head of fresh broccoli florets pre-cooked, sauted onions+celery+fresh mushrooms and one can of French Fried Onions (instead of bread crumbs). It was soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Family loves it, I add frozen peas to it for the veggie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Holm Zula

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States