Tommy's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This was a great base to work upon. We are not big portion eaters however I did bump the ingredients by one third. The dish would have been a little too close to quite make the 6 person portion. I didn't have the cream of mushroom soup, so I made a roux 3 TB of of melted butter and 3 TB of flour and added one can of evaporated milk plus 5 oz. of half and half and a can of mushrooms. It was better than the canned version! I also added the extra milk portion in the recipe plus a little more and then I the cheese (both at room temp) to the cream mixture and heated until smooth and creamy. I mixed all the ingredients into a sprayed caserole dish (I did shred the ham as it blends into the dish nicely). I then added aproximately 4 cups of fresh baby spinach and mixed it into the casserole. I finished as directed. It was very good although next time I will add just a few pinches of nutmeg to the creamed mixture before adding all the ingredients to the casserole to add that next layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was good. Hubby said we could do this one again. Super simple to make. I will be honest; I used Velveeta and shells as a shortcut and it was just fine. Thanks so much! We had tons of ham leftover after Easter! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ncbeachchick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Good way to use up leftover ham and macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Classic mac n cheese w/ham. I added black pepper and onions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deebert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is really very good. I also added cream of chicken soup, soup cream and 1/2 & 1/2 to sauteed onions and celery. Added a little poultry seasoning, seasoned pepper and garlic. Topping I crushed up some saltines, melted butter and sharp cheddar cheese. Our family ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian_Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
1 can of condensed cream of mushroom soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Farmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was good! I added a little garlic and pepper and broccoli. Very tasty, and with ingredients I always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Real comfort food! I made this first strictly as written, and it was good, but a I thought it was bland. My son-in-law loved it, so I tried it again. I changed just a few things the second time: Used sharp cheddar cheese (instead of mild) and added a little Lawry's seasoned salt, garlic powder, and white pepper. It's very rich and cheesy, so serve it with a green salad or green veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I like this but I used this as a base and took advice of other reviewers,so what I did is cook onion,mushrooms and green pepper added it to the pasta and ham then I added almost a whole can of milk and instead of addind sour cream as someone said I had buffalo dip on hand added that ,and on top instead of breadcrumbs I had cheese fried onions that I put there.let me tell you the hubby and my daughters friends eat it all so what I am saying great starter recipe and play with it you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made this for a charity food thing I do. Good, basic recipe. I added dried mustard (you could also just squirt in wet), some thyme and chopped broccoli. Turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikkor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States