Tommy's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Great recipe for leftover ham, this is a wonderful "comfort food" dish! This is a very easy meal to make. I made sure to follow some of the alterations mentioned here in the reviews...increasing the cheese to 2 cups and the milk to 1 can. I also added about 1 tbsp. each of seasoned salt and onion powder, and a little bit of pepper as well. The onion powder and seasoned salt really gave it the flavor it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This was great and easy! It also used up our left over ham :) It was a little rich, but the flavor was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I used suggestions from many different people to make this a tasty recipe. I cooked celery, onion, and fresh mushrooms in some marg. and added it to the pasta. I also stirred some seasoned pepper, thyme, garlic, parsley, oregano, and seasoned salt into the veg. while they were cooking. I used a full can of milk and added some lt. sour cream to the soup mixture. For the chz., I used about a cup of mild cheddar and a cup of sharp cheddar (both reduced fat). For the topping, I mixed seasoned breadcrumbs with saltine crackers and about two tablespoons of marg. I also sprinkled a little sharp cheese under the topping. This filled a 9x13 pan. My husband loved this and went back for seconds. I definately recommend making changes to the original recipe to jazz it up, otherwise this would be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was a pretty good recipe! I personally don't care for ham mixed with cream of mushroom soup. I don't think they blend very well in flavor. However hubby loved this and he's a picky eater. It is however a wonderful recipe for a base. Thanks for a recipe I will make for hubby and plan on playing with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Alden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
We really enjoyed this one, although I did doctor it up a bit (can't help myself sometimes!). I sauteed some onion & celery in butter, then mixed it into the cooked macaroni...stirred in the other ingredients and added an 8.5 oz. can of peas (drained). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Easy to make. Kids thought it was OK. Next time I'll add a few spices. It was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Very quick, easy & hearty using modifications suggested by others: 4 cups cooked macaroni (8 oz pre-cooked weight of sea shell pasta), a whole soup can of milk & 2 cups of shredded cheese. My picky eater husband loved it! Thanks Tommy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Modify the recipe as follows: Use 3 cups macaroni, 1 1/2 cups ham, Ritz crackers (or the like) mixed with a bit of Parmesan to top it off, a whole can of milk, increase cheese to 2 cups and add an additional 1/2 can of Cream of Celery soup. Also add vegetable - I love this with broccoli or asparagus, but corn, carrots, mushrooms, etc...all work well. Note that if you use potatoes you will need to increase the amount of liquid to suit to absorbtion. I also add seasonings, including garlic, thyme, marjoram and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Easy to make, delicious and followed suggestion to add onion, garlic and extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was really good, but I did alter the recipe slightly. I sauteed a medium sized onion along with 1 clove of garlic and added that to the cheese sauce. The only change I made to the cheese sauce was to add 1 tsp of dry mustard powder. I cooked 4 cups of macaroni as suggested by other reviewers and I also added about 1-1.5 cups of diced leftover ham. Lastly, instead of breadcrumbs for the topping, I crushed up some Ritz crackers, mixed with some shredded cheddar cheese and dumped a few tablespoons of melted butter of the top; this is a fabulous topping that my mother uses when she makes mac & cheese. The dish turned out really, really good...but I think next time I make it, I will add 3 cups of macaroni only, DH and I would like the cheese sauce a little more moist, but this is only a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States