Tomato Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I've made this so many times now I no longer need the recipe. Changes I've made: I always use mozzarella instead of cheddar and I use fresh basil, and plenty of it, instead of the dried. This makes a HUGE difference. Just chop or tear it in pieces and sprinkle it liberally over each layer. I use beefsteak tomatoes and let the slices rest on paper towel to drain a while before placing them in the dish so it doesn't become too watery. Also, I use a little bit more garlic and cheese than the recipe calls for. This has become one of our favorite Italian dinner side dishes, and it really does go very well with grilled meats. It's easy and so delicious! An excellent Summertime side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
My family really loved this recipe! When preparing the recipe, I 1st sliced all the tomatoes & layed them out on several layers of paper towels on a cookie sheet to drain. Usually tomato recipes like this are runny but his tip from another reviewer really helped. Also, instead of adding salt & pepper to the cheese mixture I sprinked them lightly on each layer of vegetables as I went. I used fresh basil & oregano. When the casserole is finished cooking allow it to cool & set-up for about 10-15 min. We had this with grilled Italian sausage & a crusty loaf of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This dish is excellent. If you have lots of tomatoes and zucchini in the garden, this makes for an excellent side dish. I make it almost every night. Goes great with everything. Instead of cheddar cheese, I prefer to use mozzarella. I also grow yellow and orange tomatoes in my garden and alternate red and yellow or orange, which makes the presentation beautiful. I server this dish as much as I can throughout the summer and it is a hit with everyone I share it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
OMG, this recipe is so good. I used cheddar and shredded mozzerella cheese, topped it with sauted mushrooms and onions and fresh pieces of mozzerella and left off the bread crumbs. i could have eaten the whole dish myself. Will be a regular at my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
OMGoodness!!! Could this be any better? I did alter it a bit. I added double everything except the basil and oregano. I only used 1 zucchini but it was over 12 inches long and over 3 inches diameter. You gotta love homegrown veggies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Not bad. Definately easy to make. I agree with a previous reviewer who said it tastes like pizza. I added a jalapeno for some spice, fresh herbs, about half the amount of breadcrumbs, and a mexican cheddar cheese blend instead of regular cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I added a layer of pepperoni. Very good with fresh tomatoes and zucchini from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
The zucchini was unevenly cooked, but that was because I was in a hurry and quickly chopped the zucchini into uneven pieces. Follow that part of the recipe and try to keep the pieces thin and even for consistent cooking. Also there was a bit of runniness at the bottom of the dish. Personally, I don't know if the bread crumb step is necessary and I probably won't make the fatty bread crumb topping again. However it TASTED GREAT. I will DEFINITELY make again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This is an excellent summer recipe for a day when it's not too steamy to light the oven. After making the original as written I altered it a bit. I use shredded Swiss cheese instead of cheddar and drain both the zucchini and tomatoes to prevent the dish from getting soggy. I've also sauteed chopped leeks in olive oil in place of the butter and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I love this recipe, although I added more cheese and mozzarella, fresh basil and oregano.I did't have any plum tom. I used beefsteak tom. This recipe reminds to fried zucchini and when I eat fresh tomato w/ fresh mozz. and basil. The best!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States