Tomato Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This dish was delicious, except I thought a bit too much cheese. Will scale that down the next time I prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made this for dinner last evening and it was really tasty. I did modify the recipe quite a bit to lower the fat and use the ingredients I had on hand. Here are my changes: I used 3 medium sized regular tomatoes that I sliced about 1/4 inch thick. I salted them and let them sit over the sink in a colander to drain for 1/2 hour. Sliced four small zucchini about 1/8 inch thick and salted them and laid them out on a cooling rack over a sheet pan for 1/2 hour, then rinsed and dried them. For the topping, I used 1 cup of mozzarella cheese in place of cheddar, and only 2T of EVOO to sauté the onions. Subbed panko for the bread crumbs and only used 1/2 cup, assembled and baked per directions. I didn't have any of the moisture problems that other reviewers had with the recipe. I think letting the vegetables drain really helped. This was a very good recipe and I would definitely make again. I just had what was left over for lunch! Yum-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! My only complaint was that it turned out a little watery probably because I decided to use the fancy style shredded parmesan instead of the cheap sprinkle kind. Regardless, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Out of 1-10 scale...my husband gave it a "12" ...outstanding! Of course I did use fresh basil and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Soooo good! I made it with fresh tomatoes and fresh zucchini - it was perfect. I added some crumbled feta when I served it - try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by khershey
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
YUM! I followed RivertownMom's suggestions and used mozzarella instead of cheddar, and lots of fresh basil and oregano too! It ended up filling a 9x13 and turned out absolutely delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
We all loved this dish. Next time I may consider adding crumbled bacon to add a little more texture. The crumb topping was a nice texture complement to the softer consistency of the tomatoes underneath it, but I'm wondering if a little bacon might be even better thrown in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Still trying to figure out how to eliminate the excess water from the fresh veggies. It drives me mad! I did the tomatoes under the broiler and that worked well and gave them a delicious flavor, but then the zucchini made the dish watery. I will try it under the broiler next time as well and see if this cuts down on the soup like qualities of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Very watery. Cook your zucchini a little and drain excess water before adding to the recipe. The flavor was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Delicious! I did not add the butter with the breadcrumbs due to the high fat content. Just sprinkled breadcrumbs over the final cheese layer and spritzed with olive oil spray. Smelled amazing while cooking. What a great idea for using extra garden produce. Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States