Tomato Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
After making this recipe as written (that is the 4 star rating) I now use the changes that Lala posted. She doesn't state how much fresh herbs she uses. I use about 8-10 fresh basil leaves, chiffonade and about 1 teaspoon of minced fresh oregano. I also use buffalo mozzarella. Because of family allergies, I also used fresh gluten free bread crumbs. IN ADDITION: I made this again last night but used smoked sea salt directly on the tomatoes and smoked paprika in the bread crumbs. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Delicious, and it works with crookneck squash too. I substituted mozzarella cheese for the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Very nice side dish, I used only 2 Roma tomatoes deseeded and drained quite a bit of liquid. I used a combination of cheeses using a yummy shredded fontina cheese, Parmesan and a bit of cheddar. There was a bit of excess liquid but did not affect the overall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
It's easy, and yummy. I didn't change a thing except I used dried onion flakes because I forgot to get fresh onions at the store. I served it with corn and a chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Sorry...just not my family's taste. Too mushy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
The best casserole ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
lots of cheese! I used mozzarella which was great. it needed more seasoning. I will probably add onion powder, garlic powder and sazon as well as the other ingredients next time. I used all the dried basil it called for and also added about 1 TBS of chopped fresh basil. Next time I will use one layer in a 13x9 inch pan b/c there were way too many breadcrumbs to pile ontop in a 9x9 inch dish. I used one large zucchini and 4 plum tomatoes. Very good! my hubby even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Whaaat?! My kids (and husband) ate all their vegetables! Yup, it's that good. We had it as a main dish. For substitutions, I used lots of fresh basil, a few heirloom tomatoes, yellow squash along with the zucchini, and green onions because that is what I had on hand. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. Next time I make it, I'd like to use fresh oregano, as well. And I think I'll try mozzarella cheese as other reviewers suggested. Excellent way to use up summer squash and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downtoearthcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Great spring/summer side dish. I sliced and drained tomatoes in the am, and I did add salt to the tomato layer when assemblying. Did not bother with the onion in the bread crumb mixture. Really good & always gets great reviews. Has anyone prepped this the day before? Wasn't sure if it would get too soggy??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was delicious. I was looking for a recipe that would use up some remaining ingredients in my fridge...so I did tweak it slightly, but not enough for it to be a new recipe. I already had some large tomatoes, they weren't plum but not sure what kind they were, so I used those instead of buying new tomatoes. I, also, added a layer of yellow squash because I had one I desperately needed to use up. The only other change was that I doubled the cheese mixture so it would coat more evenly. I gave portions of this to some friends and family and they all gobbled it up and asked for the recipe. It was definitely a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States