Tomato Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Whaaat?! My kids (and husband) ate all their vegetables! Yup, it's that good. We had it as a main dish. For substitutions, I used lots of fresh basil, a few heirloom tomatoes, yellow squash along with the zucchini, and green onions because that is what I had on hand. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. Next time I make it, I'd like to use fresh oregano, as well. And I think I'll try mozzarella cheese as other reviewers suggested. Excellent way to use up summer squash and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downtoearthcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Great spring/summer side dish. I sliced and drained tomatoes in the am, and I did add salt to the tomato layer when assemblying. Did not bother with the onion in the bread crumb mixture. Really good & always gets great reviews. Has anyone prepped this the day before? Wasn't sure if it would get too soggy??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was delicious. I was looking for a recipe that would use up some remaining ingredients in my fridge...so I did tweak it slightly, but not enough for it to be a new recipe. I already had some large tomatoes, they weren't plum but not sure what kind they were, so I used those instead of buying new tomatoes. I, also, added a layer of yellow squash because I had one I desperately needed to use up. The only other change was that I doubled the cheese mixture so it would coat more evenly. I gave portions of this to some friends and family and they all gobbled it up and asked for the recipe. It was definitely a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This recipe was a home run! Personally, what I liked most about it was, I could actually taste the zucchini. Most recipes mask or camouflage the flavor of zucchini, but not this one – which is why I liked it so much! Having said that though, I did make a few modifications, just solely based on what I had available in my kitchen at the time: I use a combination of Colby-jack, parmesan and Romano cheese, I used garlic Melba Toast for the bread crumbs, and probably more onion than what the recipe calls for (whatever a small onion equals). Also, I used a generic Italian seasoning, thyme, and two Roma tomatoes. I also drew out some of the moisture from the tomatoes and zucchini before using, as some other reviews suggested. This will definitely become one of my ‘go to’ recipes! Even my 11 yo daughter liked it! ‘Nuf said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
loved it- followed directions exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Che buona!!!!! Very good even at room temperature!!!!! I made without adding or subtracting anything......Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My family loves this as a meal with bread. I use Panko bread crumbs and fresh basil and oregano and think I will try mozzarella instead of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Lynn Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I loved this. Husband and kids, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Really awesome. My nephew is the only vegetarian in a house full of meat eating women. Poor guy. But he and I made this last night and even though we didn't have nearly enough cheese and Were only able to get through 1 1/2 layers of tomato, it was so good my sister took some for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Fabulous. I cut back about 1/3 to 1/4 on the butter, crumbs, and cheese just to save on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States