Tomato Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
So good!!! First time making this and thought it made me look like a pro. WILL MAKE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I am very impressed by this simple, but delicious recipe for vodka sauce. I added slight changes like added the vodka when the oinons were just transparent and simmered the vodka and tomatoes (I used diced tomatoes with onion and garlic, but used a hand blender to chop them down). I added a little more heavy cream then recommended because we like a little more saucy pasta and some dried basil. The sauce is very good and I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Wow! This was my first time making vodka sauce. I will definitely be doing it again. We added baby portabella mushrooms and zucchini to the pile of sauce. We had to add a touch more vodka because we started the pasta later than we should have. A local parsley and garlic goat cheese with crackers was a perfect start to this meal. We served this with baked butternut squash. This is a wonderful addition that will become a part of my regular dinner menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This dish came out very good even after all the changes I made in order to be lower in fat: 1) I didn't use any butter, only olive oil. 2) Used crushed tomatos instead of diced. 3) 1/2 cup of half and half + 1/2 cup of milk instead of heavy cream. Served over cheese raviolli because my boys just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Simple, fast, and yummy! I too changed a few things (thanks to reading the reviews before I made it.) I added garlic, only used 1/2 onion, Other additions were: fresh spinach added during the last 3 minutes of boiling the pasta. And I added some dry basil as well. I added the vodka at the time I put in the tomatoes (to give it time to "cook off" the alcohol). This recipe was wonderful on top of ravioli! (I used a 32oz. bag of frozen...perfect amount for the 4-serving recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was trying to find a vodka sauce where I could control the sodium a bit, so wanted to make my own - this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Fantastic Sauce!! Thank you. I do replace the heavy cream with a soy/olive oil mix to remove the heavy dairy/ fat. It's the only thins I change, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
The taste was very good, but I found the sauce didn't thicken as the recipe stated it would because I had to add cornstarch to help with the process. Would definitely make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I had this over gnocchi and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I'd rate the recipe as-is 3 stars, but with a few additions, I'd bump it up to 4 stars. I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of minced garlic to the onions, and later some garlic powder, but it still could have used more (I love garlic). I used crushed tomatoes as some had recommended for a nice consistency. Once all the ingredients were added, the sauce seemed a bit tart/sour, so I added some sugar to sweeten it up and also some fresh grated parmesan cheese directly to the sauce to taste. The crushed red peppers added a nice kick. I'd probably make again, using the recipe as a base to start off with, and keep on experimenting with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States