Tomato Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I also added more cream (another 1/2 cup) and vodka (another 1/8 cup) as well as a few shakes of dried basil. The recipe on its own is great, but with the simple changes it was SUPERB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Gregersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
i'd give this 2 1/2 stars if i could. it's not horrible but not great either. i like my sauce creamier and if you do too; you should try the Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce but is submitted by BLBREWER and add vodka to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejones81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very good. I added a clove of garlic and went a little light on the cream. I also didn't cook off the tomatoes as much as the recipe suggests. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XtraSweet4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Love this recipe! It has become a family favorite! I do buy crushed tomato though. Sometimes I add pan seared chicken and spinach and melt mozzarella cheese on top of the penne with the sauce, delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
So good!!! First time making this and thought it made me look like a pro. WILL MAKE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I am very impressed by this simple, but delicious recipe for vodka sauce. I added slight changes like added the vodka when the oinons were just transparent and simmered the vodka and tomatoes (I used diced tomatoes with onion and garlic, but used a hand blender to chop them down). I added a little more heavy cream then recommended because we like a little more saucy pasta and some dried basil. The sauce is very good and I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Wow! This was my first time making vodka sauce. I will definitely be doing it again. We added baby portabella mushrooms and zucchini to the pile of sauce. We had to add a touch more vodka because we started the pasta later than we should have. A local parsley and garlic goat cheese with crackers was a perfect start to this meal. We served this with baked butternut squash. This is a wonderful addition that will become a part of my regular dinner menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This dish came out very good even after all the changes I made in order to be lower in fat: 1) I didn't use any butter, only olive oil. 2) Used crushed tomatos instead of diced. 3) 1/2 cup of half and half + 1/2 cup of milk instead of heavy cream. Served over cheese raviolli because my boys just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Simple, fast, and yummy! I too changed a few things (thanks to reading the reviews before I made it.) I added garlic, only used 1/2 onion, Other additions were: fresh spinach added during the last 3 minutes of boiling the pasta. And I added some dry basil as well. I added the vodka at the time I put in the tomatoes (to give it time to "cook off" the alcohol). This recipe was wonderful on top of ravioli! (I used a 32oz. bag of frozen...perfect amount for the 4-serving recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States