Tomato Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Yummy. I make frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Phenomenal recipe! I want to quadruple this and can the extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
WOW!!!! This recipe is among one of the best I've ever made!!!! I made some modifications, but other then that, spot on AMAZING!! I added a few cloves of minced garlic (I love garlic, you can never get enough!), I also used the "basil, garlic and oregano" diced tomatoes. I added some extra Italian seasonings as well, while cooking the water out of the tomatoes. But I think the key modification I made to this recipe was I used a cheese ravioli instead of penne pasta!!! SO YUMMY! It will be added to my regular rotation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I used half and half instead of heavy cream and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Excellent sauce recipe. I used two cloves of garlic with the onions (added a bit after), crushed tomatoes, half-and-half instead of cream (might even try fat-free half-and-half next time), and about 1/2 c of vodka. I also finished the sauce with fresh basil. Served over homemade gnocchi, and it was really tasty. A tip for those interested (I did some research into this): this recipe is definitely correct about when to add the vodka. Cooking instinct might say use it to deglaze after the onion-cooking phase, but the flavor really gets lost when added this early, seeing as vodka doesn't have a particularly potent taste. The alcohol still cooks off when added after the tomatoes, but you retain a slight bitterness, which works nicely with the dairy element in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great if you add suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Drop the vodka, add garlic to onion, after cream added, put in blender. Comes out consistent in color and taste, just like your local restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I have made this many times since I have found it. I have followed other's suggestions about adding the vodka after the onions and garlic, and before the tomatoes. I found I liked the taste of the final product better this way. Tonight, when I made this recipe, I added a chopped red bell pepper. This added a very nice sweetness to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Wow. This sauce is MARVELOUS! I actually used my own homemade tomato sauce, which I had canned in the summer, which took away most of the simmering & thickening time. I used this sauce to go with the "Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli" recipe also found on this site, and it was a perfect combination. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States