Tomato Tang Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I made this because we had a ton of tomatoes to use up. I want to be very specific that I made up the dressing and let it sit in the fridge for a few days before we actually ate it. The dressing itself was delicious, but the tomatoes had soaked up all of the vinegar and became "vinegar bombs". They were so terrible that we had to pull every one out of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Will definitely make again ! Used a can of diced no salt tomatoes (with juice), and followed directions to the letter. Next time might try a little Garlic Powder or finely diced onions ...... Easy fast and inexpensive, great combination of flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Love this recipe. It is the lettuce toppings and dressings all in one. A healthy and delicious alternative to a gooey, creamy dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is a good start. Its almost french dressing like. I used grainy mustard since thats what I had besides yellow. After it set and I tried it I did add 1 scant teaspoon of sugar because it had alot of bite. I also used dried herbs. This worked well with tomatoes from my garden and I did chop them small and mush them with the back of a spoon since my family isnt big on chunky dressings. I think this would be improved running the ingredients through the food processor to get a creamy texture. It might coat the salad better which is what I needed was to coat a big bowl of iceburg lettuce cukes and tomatoes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Excellent low-fat dressing! I put it in the blender and added horseradish and black pepper. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This dressing is absolutely delicious! It reminds me of the homemade tomato basil vinaigrettes you find in Italian restaurants. I didn't have fresh herbs on hand, so I used dried. Even so, it was superb. I decided to add a little drizzle of extra-virgin olive oil for the health benefits, but concerning flavor, you could totally leave it out and not miss it at all. So healthy, so tasty. Great one, Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dee's Yummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I thought this recipe was good, but not great. It had too much vinegar in it. I didn't put the basil, thyme, or ketchup in it, either, so it probably would've tasted better with those added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This is an excellent coleslaw dressing (with sugar added)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Besides being extremely lowfat low cal, this is one of the most flavorful dressing I've ever had - better than any store bought dressing I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States