Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Big hit! Added a pinch of sugar and a few more spices. A litle bit of milk at the end....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I served this for our weekly "Meatless Monday" along with grilled cheese sandwiches and a green salad. Even our teen that doesn't like tomato soup had 3 bowls (I had adjusted the recipe for 10 servings). I did tweak this recipe a bit. My basil plant is looking sad, so I added about 2 TBS fresh pesto. Instead of simmering on the stove top, I put everything into the crock pot on high for about an hour and added fat free 1/2 and 1/2 at the end. I left out the Worcestershire because we didn't have any vegetarian and no hot pepper sauce as my hubby doesn't do spicy. I added veggie broth to the veggies after sauteing and simmered them a bit and ran that mixture through the blender. I put the tomatoes in the blender too, but left some chunks. I boiled up some fun shapped pasta for the kids to add in if they wanted. There is not a drop of this soup left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Awesome soup! I don't remember the last time I was going back and forth between kitchen and living room until the soup was finished. It is just excellent. I used less onion though, no celery, added some chili sauce and meat balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is terrible....I gagged on the first bite. The ingredients it called for didn't blend at all....total waste of money and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Very yummy! Vegetarian worstershire is very hard to find however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Simple and delicious. A classic tomato soup. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and regular worcestershire and pureed the soup at the end with an immersion blender. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Kelliher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I didn't have any vegetable stock so I used water and added a teaspoon of vegemite. I also pureed it, then served it with a dollop of sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was not very good... it tastes like thin tomato sauce. I had to add an extra carrot and two potatoes just to cut the acidity, but it still didn't work. I pureed it so that the carrots and potatoes wouldn't be chunky. I refuse to waste food, so I am eating it anyway, but only with a large dallop of sour cream and deep hunger pangs that make me so desperate for food that I'd eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I would have given this five stars, but my husband didn't like it with the carrots. I had to use beef broth because that's all I had. I did add chili peppers and meatballs just to make it a complete meal for us. It was a terrific rainy day supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Overall I was pleased with this recipe. It is a bit thick and chunky so I pureed the entire batch. I also thinned it out a bit with about one cup of water. I omitted the salt since I didn't have any low sodium broth or canned tomatoes and I'm very sensitive to salty foods. Next time I might add some cayenne pepper too for more of a kick. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyCats84

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States