Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My family and I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
It's a rainy day in March and I feel like I am eating right out of the garden in August. This soup is SO very fresh tasting. I added a spec of heavy cream but it almost felt sinful because it was already way delish. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I made this recipe as written, except I forgot the broth, and pureed it. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very successfull soup for a difficult eater (daughter) who does not like homemade soups. (I suspect the tinned soups are full of sugar) I was not a slave to the ingredients here. I just took what I had in the cupboard herb wise, and included dried basil (which is always nice with tomatoes) and one sweet potato. I did not use celery as I dont really like it. I used red onions as I prefer their taste. I lightly fried the onions, garlic, herbs, sweet potatoes, carrots, salt and pepper then added the stock/broth and worchester sauce with one cardboard container of chopped tomates and boiled until the onions were tender - which was about 15 to 20 minutes. Blend and eat directly with a french baguette Delicious . You could add a second box of crushed tomatoes if you want a thicker soup. So all you should need to buy are onions, garlic and tomatoes depending on how well stocked your store cupboard is. I always have worchester sause in as I use it to marinate white fish (15-20 mins) which I then dip in bread crumbs and fry - takes 5 mins to cook and is a delicious late night supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Great recipe! I doubled it to have some for freezing. I made a few changes... I used olive oil, homemade chicken & turkey broth, diced tomatoes, regular worcestershire sauce, and added a red bell pepper. I let it simmer about 35 minutes and used my stick blender while it was still hot to blend it up smooth. Doubling the recipe I ended up with enough for about 6 or 7 lunches and enough for another 2 servings I sent home with my Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
A lot of work to make this soup. I like creamy soup without chunks so I used the emersion blender and then strained it to make a smooth soup. The flavor was nice but I would cut down on the worcestershire sauce, it is a strong taste. I think I will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Deeeelicious! I put it through my food processor before adding the veg broth....mmmmmm. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Loved this recipe! Very quick and easy to make and quite filling. I added bell pepper to the vegetables that are sauteed (which I had diced up quite small), used rosemary for one of the seasonings, added just a splash of cream, and had to use onion powder since I didn't realize that I was out of onions. I did not use any of the other seasonings listed except a pinch of salt. Also, I used only one of the 28 ounce cans of tomato (I used diced) and then added one large fresh tomato, pureed to the sauteed vegetable. Threw in the last bit of spinach I had just to go ahead and use it. These are a lot of changes but I think it shows how versatile the soup can be if you stick with the base ingredients. I will definitely make this again and would consider using this as a pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieSuzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phynn
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is an excellent recipe and I will make it again! I made a couple of changes: fresh tomatoes, diced red peppers instead of celery, a few sloshes of red wine instead of W'shire sauce, and I added about a cup of soy milk at the very end after I pureed the soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have been making this soup weekly for 6 months. We love it. I use fresh tomatoes, same weight amount, diced and added with the celery and carrots. We love it chunky or blended. We eat it plain or add meat, vegetables, beans or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States