Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Big hit! Added a pinch of sugar and a few more spices. A litle bit of milk at the end....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I served this for our weekly "Meatless Monday" along with grilled cheese sandwiches and a green salad. Even our teen that doesn't like tomato soup had 3 bowls (I had adjusted the recipe for 10 servings). I did tweak this recipe a bit. My basil plant is looking sad, so I added about 2 TBS fresh pesto. Instead of simmering on the stove top, I put everything into the crock pot on high for about an hour and added fat free 1/2 and 1/2 at the end. I left out the Worcestershire because we didn't have any vegetarian and no hot pepper sauce as my hubby doesn't do spicy. I added veggie broth to the veggies after sauteing and simmered them a bit and ran that mixture through the blender. I put the tomatoes in the blender too, but left some chunks. I boiled up some fun shapped pasta for the kids to add in if they wanted. There is not a drop of this soup left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Awesome soup! I don't remember the last time I was going back and forth between kitchen and living room until the soup was finished. It is just excellent. I used less onion though, no celery, added some chili sauce and meat balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is terrible....I gagged on the first bite. The ingredients it called for didn't blend at all....total waste of money and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Very yummy! Vegetarian worstershire is very hard to find however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Simple and delicious. A classic tomato soup. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and regular worcestershire and pureed the soup at the end with an immersion blender. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I didn't have any vegetable stock so I used water and added a teaspoon of vegemite. I also pureed it, then served it with a dollop of sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was not very good... it tastes like thin tomato sauce. I had to add an extra carrot and two potatoes just to cut the acidity, but it still didn't work. I pureed it so that the carrots and potatoes wouldn't be chunky. I refuse to waste food, so I am eating it anyway, but only with a large dallop of sour cream and deep hunger pangs that make me so desperate for food that I'd eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I would have given this five stars, but my husband didn't like it with the carrots. I had to use beef broth because that's all I had. I did add chili peppers and meatballs just to make it a complete meal for us. It was a terrific rainy day supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Overall I was pleased with this recipe. It is a bit thick and chunky so I pureed the entire batch. I also thinned it out a bit with about one cup of water. I omitted the salt since I didn't have any low sodium broth or canned tomatoes and I'm very sensitive to salty foods. Next time I might add some cayenne pepper too for more of a kick. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyCats84

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States