Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, except I left out 1 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I made this soup in a dinner for mother's day, and everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly like mentioned, but i blended it at the end to get a softer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
So yum! Made a huge batch of this and some cheddar biscuits and having been enjoying it a lot these past few nights. The amount of pepper might be a bit spicy for some. Just play with the spices and get it how you want it. I also added some oregano, then white sugar to balance out the saltiness. Turned out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I love tomato soup, but can no longer tolerate the sweetness and often chemical taste of canned soups. This recipe is what I have been looking for. My only tweaks were to reduce hot sauce by 1/2, add 1/2 tsp more salt, and add 3/4 tsp sugar (to eliminate the tang/sourness). With tweaks, definitely 5 stars. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delish!! but had to make some changes, I sauteed celery carrots onion and garlic first. Deglazed with 1/4 cup red wine. Then pureed in blender. I added pureed mix to dutch oven with 2 cans crushed tomato, broth, 1 tsp. not TBSP worcestershire, hot sauce, salt and pepper, 1 tsp basil, 1 bay leaf, 1/4 cup cream. AMAZING!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very good. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, stewed tomatoes because that's what I had, omitted the Worcestershire, added a tsp. or so of chicken boullion and pureed the whole thing before simmering. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
One addition just to cut the strong tomato tartness was a bit of sugar or brown sugar. Just a little at a time to your liking will mellow the tartness. I would recommend running the sauteed veggies through a processor also just to keep the pieces very small. Overall very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
My husband really loved this and I didn't like it quite as much. I only put in half the salt, but it was still too salty for me. It was also a bit heavy on the Worcestershire sauce. I would make it again, but I would put in half the Worcestershire sauce and maybe just 1/4 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I added 1/2 a sweet pepper to the mix of vegetables and blended it all together after cooking, like a couple of the other reviewers. It was fabulous! This was my first attempt at making tomato soup and I will definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
OK. this was not what I wanted, I wanted a smooth tomato soup so even after pureeing, didn't give me what I wanted, but the flavour....yum, yum! Still a delicious soup, on day two I added a half cup of wild rice blend with barley and stuff and it was even better! I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States