Tomato Soup Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
The grandkids always ask for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I have been making this cake for decades and it remains one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
It was great for using up an extra can of tomato soup, but I've had better spice cakes. It seemed to dry out within a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Most people find the cake got too much salt so I feels that maybe try to buy a low sodium tomato soup ok....sounds good for the cake's recipe. But I will try to make this recipe with a low sodium tomato soup without adding salt. Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I chose this recipe because I had all the ingredients to make it and my husband loves spice cake. I was intrigued by the tomato soup and figured with all the positive reviews that the soup was virtually tasteless once it was baked into the cake. The ingredients are very easy to find in your pantry and the fact that you dump them all in the same bowl and mix was fast and convenient. While the cake baked, I made the icing and let it sit until the cake cooled. One thing I noticed, and this may be because I have a gas oven, was it began to brown about 25 minutes into the cooking time so I took 25 degrees off and let it cook the rest of the way. It turned out perfect! My kids and my young nieces and nephews didn't believe the secret ingredient was tomato soup. The cake was moist and perfectly spiced and the frosting tasted so much better than store bought. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Outstanding! I had half a can of tomato soup to use up after making the Dorothy Lynch salad dressing (recipe here on AR) and was led to this recipe by the reviews on the salad dressing. While being skeptical about putting tomato soup in a cake, I pressed on and made a half recipe. I baked it in a 9x9" square pan for about 30 minutes. I may have overcooked it just a bit because the edges and corners were very dry. I just eyeballed the cream cheese frosting using a partial package of cream cheese also left over from another recipe. I think you could put cream cheese frosting on shoe leather and it would be delicious! This cake was a delicious surprise. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was my fault, I thought I had a can of soup in the pantry but didn't. I used a can of tomato sauce and used tomato paste.. the consistancy was right. I went to make cupcakes, but they crumbled, SO I ended up making cake balls, using the cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
My mom's family all used this recipe. The only difference is they added chopped dates and, for some reason frosted the cake with chocolate frosting....believe it or not, it was good! I haven't tried it with the cream cheese frosting, but I think that would be even better. Memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written (except in cupcake form so the baking time was a little different) and it was a huge hit both at home and at work. No one could believe that tomato soup was in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States