Tomato Soup Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this into healthy muffins instead of cake. I used whole wheat white flour, cut the sugar down to a half cup, I used Healthy Request tomato soup, half homemade apple butter in place of half the oil, and I added 1/2 cup of organic raisins that I soaked in hot chai to "plump" them before adding them to the batter. I did not use the cream cheese frosting but that would be excellent on these. I got twelve biggish muffins out of this recipe and they turned out beautiful, moist and very tasty. 350* for 20 minutes was just right. This was an excellent recipe to use on hand pantry ingredients to make a healthy breakfast/snack for my husband and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very very good! Substituted the shortening for equal amount of applesauce, added 1 tsp of nutmeg and 1 cup chopped walnuts. Made it twice this week. A hit here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
WOW!!!! This is totally the secret ingredient that will quench the curiousity of any cook who wants to make the ultimate soft, tender, and moist spice cake! My whole family loves it (they are eating it as I speak), and no one could tell I used tomato soup!! The frosting is the cherry on top that completes this great desert! A six star spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe is fantastic - lots of flavour and freezes well too. Don't be put off by the soup, believe me you don't taste it but it makes the cake incredibly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this cake into cupcakes and it was superb. I (of course) made some changes. I omitted the water and subbed a half cup roasted applesauce for the shortening and 2 rounded tbs of plain Greek Yogurt for the milk. I also added raisins and will likely add walnuts next time. For the frosting, I used 8oz of cream cheese, 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract, and 3/4 cup of powdered sugar. I can't imagine how sweet 2 cups would be!! If you're unsure about this recipe, try it. You'll be pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
My Mom used to make this cake and I did not have her recipe. I looked this up and it is so much like it, although I think moister! It got all eat in 2 days. Love the cream cheese icing, I also added some raisins which Mom used to put in hers. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is another cake that is part of my childhood memories. When I made this cake the kids all went yuk...but once they tasted there were no leftovers :( I put the cream cheese icing on it....mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette from Quebec, Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I was highly skeptical. Basically, you throw every thing into a bowl and mix. It really shouldn't turn out well. But it did, and it's amazing. This is a delicate and fragile delicious cake. It tastes more like pumpkin than any thing else, but it's much lighter than any pumpkin cake recipe I've found. This is a new 'go-to' recipe for me. I'll make it again and again. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyCF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I had my reservations about this one, but it turned out great. Super moist even 4 days later. I used a cream cheese frosting I had left over from a previous project. Even my husband liked it and he's not a sweets person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States