Tomato Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I changed a few things for what I had on hand. Turned out really good. I used a large can of tomato soup then filled the can with half milk, half broth. Threw in canned tomatoes all the spices they listed and a touch of brown sugar and cinnamon. Had the perfect spice with a tinge of sweetness. All my veggies were sauted and put in to boil. It was great with a grill cheese for a rainy day supper. Will definitely make it agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is the tomato soup I've been searching for! So rich and filling without any cream. I also added a can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Oh wow. This was AWESOME. This is the tomato soup I've been searching for...highlights the flavor of veggies, no milk or cream. The sugar made the tomato flavor so lovely. The only things I had to omit were the veggie bouillon, parsely, and I omitted the salt b/c it was plenty salty. For the Italian seasoning, I used 1/2 a ts each of oregano and basil. Other than that, I followed the whole thing perfectly. Made 6 hearty servings that don't need accompaniment. Just b/c it's tradition, I plopped a little plain yogurt on top...unnecessary. I ate it with bread and a little cheese...also unneccessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was the best vegetable soup I've made! It was a great Ash Wednesday dinner. The only thing I changed was I only had one 15 oz can of tomato sauce, so I used a can of diced tomatoes and about a TBSP of tomato paste (to thicken it a bit). I also let it simmer on the stove for about 2 hours and I didn't add pasta. It would be wonderful with pasta, but I left it out for simplicity. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very delicious.. I added a can of cooked, peeled tomatoes and diced them up! Don't forget the bay leaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This is the best tomato soup. It's loaded with a warm smooth flavor that compliments all of the ingredients. Made this along with the allrecipes Grilled Cheese for the Gods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was a yummy soup for a rainy day today! It was a little thin for my tastes, but it will probably be a bit thicker tomorrow as leftovers. I did kick up the Tabasco sauce a bit, but this was personal preference. I have made a recipe very similar to this with a couple of cans of kidney beans (rinsed and drained) and this makes a yummy protein boost! A nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Love, love, love this soup. This is the perfect receipe for adding/subtracting according to one's personal taste or what you happen to have on hand. I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I used 1 14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes w/ basil and garlic and added one (tomato can) of V-8 Vegetable juice and only 4 cups of water (like mine a little thicker). I didn't have any Italian Seasonings, added 1/4 t. basil and 1/4 t. oregano and 1 t. Mrs. Dash's Original Seasonings. Also, added barely 1/8 t. nutmeg. All the other seasonings-vegetables were as stated. 10 minutes before adding pasta I added 1 handful of fresh spinach. On serving added 1 T. grated parmasan cheese on top of soup. With homemade French Bread from this site. . . this is absolutely wonderful!!! Great comfort food on a cold winter day. Thank you for sharing your recipe. This is definitely a keeper and will make this often. Oh, and this freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Try adding about 1 cup whipping cream to turn it into tomato bisque, it is so good it's addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Very good. Even non-soup eating hubby liked it. The only changes I made was that I added some basil and used canned tomatoes that I pureed (didn't have any tomato juice). Had it with grilled turkey and cheddar sandwhiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States