Tomato Soup Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Been making this cake for yeas never had it come out dry. Always a good cake to take to pot luck dinners. Just don't tell them what they are eating. They wont try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Coulombe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Bunkie, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This cake recipe was terrible. I followed the recipe exactly and it was very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The taste is phenominal. I wouldn't have thought of ever using tomato soup in a cake, but the recipe sounded so bizarre I had to give it a whirl and I'm glad I did. The only thing I did different was to cut the recipe in half as a 9 x 13 pan wouldn't fit in my RV oven. I am giving this a 4 star review because the texture is crumbly. Thanks for a great tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this into a healthy muffins instead of a cake. I cut the sugar back by half, used half melted butter/half homemade organic applesauce to cut back on the fat, two organic eggs, two teaspoons homemade pumpkin pie spice, organic raisins, whole wheat flour and Healthy Request tomato soup. I sifted all the dry ingredients together and wisked all the wet together and I just folded the wet into the dry so they wouldn't get overmixed and become tough. 350* for twenty minutes was just right for baking time. These are for snacks and tomorrow morning's breakfast, but I'll update my review once we've had a chance to sample them. I'll tell you, though. It's a nice way to use up one of the gazillion cans of condensed soup I have in the back of my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Very moist cake and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Mmmmm... Spicy, yummy, goodness. I baked this in a springform tube pan with good results. I used W-Wheat pastry flour and brown sugar instead of the all purpose flour and white sugar. Thank you MONOU for the tip about using applesause instead of shortening. Wonderfully moist and bursting with flavor expecially when it has time to age a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
This cake is very good. I had no problems with it being dry, and the texture was excellent even with the changes I made: 2 Tbs. ground flax seed mixed with 6 Tbs. hot water for the eggs, applesauce for the shortening, 1/2 cup brown sugar for 1/2 cup of the white, and 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup all-purpose. These made it a little healthier, and I did not add nuts (as per my family's liking). It did not need the frosting either. The only thing I would watch out for is that the longer it sits, the spicier it gets. My 15-year-old brother loved this cake (even when he found out there was tomato soup in it), and my father ate a whole big piece (a first for my "Internet Recipes")!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
I left out the raisins and walnuts, baked at 350 degrees for about 23 minutes and it came out really moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Excellent!! My father used to make this cake when I was a kid and it is the same! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAKIRKEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
this is the best spice cake ever! Everyone in my family loves it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States