Tomato Soup Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
A must keep recipe. I could not believe how moist this cake could be. Did not change any thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My Mother made this cake all through WW11, in Canada where we lived. This is exactly the taste of hers! Thankyou so very much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This turned out really dry for me. And the flavor was just ok. I remember seeing this recipe flipping through my grandma's old recipes and cookbooks. At least I can say I tried it though. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
awesome.It's the recipe my mom used to make.I never thought i would find it again.Thank You so much.It's been over 30years.Whow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Thanks for this recipe Debbie! It is a very good tomato soup cake. I have been trying to emulate my great-grandmother Jenke's cake and this one gets pretty close. I didn't find it too salty However, I always use unsalted butter, and I'm from the south, so that might have something to do with it! A very simple tip I picked up over the years is to toss the raisins in with 1/4 of the flour before you combine everything. It keeps them from sinking down to the bottom of your cake. Overall, it was the tiniest bit bland, so I might add a bit more of the spices next time. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This waz such a yummy cake!! but i dont use raisans, it sorta gave it a pulpy kind of taste. Go reely easy on the salt and butter. Plus, don't worry if your cake smells a bit like baking soda, its perfectly nomal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morning Star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Sorry I just didn't like your version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I left the salt out like everyone said and used all purpose flour with a tsp of baking powder. This was amazing. You can't taste tomato at all and it is so fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This sounds disgusting if you tell them before they eat it that is is a "tomatoe soup" cake but if you wait they will be delighted. The consistancy is wonderful and the taste is fabulous. I remember my grandmother baking it and I am now 64 years old myself. I add chopped walnuts to it also and an extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States