Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is a good, savoury tomato sauce that is useful for many dishes! I froze the leftovers to enjoy with other meals. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was easy and tastes great. The ingredients are fool proof. I added half a red onion (sautéed with garlic and butter) and used a mix of tomatoes from the garden (red, yellow, green). I also used brown sugar and fresh herbs (liberal amounts). I had plenty to freeze for the winter. I took out a cup to use as bruschetta after about 15 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This tomato sauce was a big hit! My whole family (myself, my oldest, and her 5 children) kept saying how delicious the spaghetti was. All had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I make this once a week, my family LOVES it! I wanted to find something to use all the tomatos in my garden. This sauce has such a great flavor to it, my husband gives me compliments everytime I make it, and my kids love it too which is always nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I cannot find anything wrong with this. I didn't measure anything but I went by the ingredient list almost to a "t", adding dried basil & rosemary. I really like this, it's fool proof and right on the mark for a home made pizza. It's not "off the charts" but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this recipe to use with cheese ravioli. And I actually modified it a little. I added some plain canned tomatoe sauce. I boiled some roma tomatoes until skin started to break then peeled them>. I combined the canned tomatoe sauce and cooked tomatoes and put them in the blender along with the onion. After this I followed the recipe and added some basil too. I actually didn't simmer for an hour and simmered for much less. Taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was awesome!! I sauteed the onions first, then added in the ingredients. I also added in some mushrooms, green peas, crushed red pepper, and Parmesan cheese as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
We used organic, farmer's market tomatoes (red and yellow) in this recipe and it was to die for! Used red chopped red onion (more like a 1/4 a cup) and left out the sugar. PERFECT chicken and pasta topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is great! I had been looking for a recipe that started with real FRESH tomatoes so that I could preserve the delicious local tomatoes we'd been getting this summer. This is the perfect recipe - it's got a bit of spice and pepper, which I like and can be a great base for a lot of different things including spaghetti or pizza sauce. I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I had half the tomatoes and used half the salt, and one-half teaspoon pepper, the rest of the ingredients I used at the full strength (so double the recipe). It tastes great, like a healthy store-bought sauce. Also, I put in 1/4 tsp. baking soda to lower the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States