Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I think this recipe is wonderful. I have recently moved from the US to a small asian country where a jar of spaghetti sauce costs more than 5 US dollars. Tomatoes on the other hand are about ten cents a pound. I use a couple cloves of garlic instead of garlic powder and fresh hot chiles instead of the seasoning. This recipe has been a life-saver and everyone loves it. It is so easy as well! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was a good and simple recipe that easily uses up lots of leftover tomatoes from the garden. I did find the amount of black pepper suggested to be a bit much, however. Was it really supposed to be 1.5 tablespoons, or 1.5 teaspoons? Next time, I will reduce the amount of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This was a very easy and good receipe. I did add canned mushrooms and olives which gave it a chunky feel. My whole family woofed it up and it reheated beautifully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
We used organic, farmer's market tomatoes (red and yellow) in this recipe and it was to die for! Used red chopped red onion (more like a 1/4 a cup) and left out the sugar. PERFECT chicken and pasta topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was awesome!! I sauteed the onions first, then added in the ingredients. I also added in some mushrooms, green peas, crushed red pepper, and Parmesan cheese as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I cannot find anything wrong with this. I didn't measure anything but I went by the ingredient list almost to a "t", adding dried basil & rosemary. I really like this, it's fool proof and right on the mark for a home made pizza. It's not "off the charts" but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was easy and tastes great. The ingredients are fool proof. I added half a red onion (sautéed with garlic and butter) and used a mix of tomatoes from the garden (red, yellow, green). I also used brown sugar and fresh herbs (liberal amounts). I had plenty to freeze for the winter. I took out a cup to use as bruschetta after about 15 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Fresh garlic, more oregano and a can of tomato paste to bring it all together and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingtonUSA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I make this once a week, my family LOVES it! I wanted to find something to use all the tomatos in my garden. This sauce has such a great flavor to it, my husband gives me compliments everytime I make it, and my kids love it too which is always nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is a good, savoury tomato sauce that is useful for many dishes! I froze the leftovers to enjoy with other meals. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States