Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
After reading the reviews, I decided this recipe would be great for my 4 kids. Because I'm a single mom, I don't usually splurge on ingredients like this without expecting great results. However, the sauce had a terrible sour after taste, which might have been the result of poor tomatoes. I ended up taking my kids to Mickey D's :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Fresh garlic, more oregano and a can of tomato paste to bring it all together and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingtonUSA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
LOVE this recipe!! It is easy and very tasty. I omitted the sugar and added fresh garlic instead of the powder. Used organic tomatoes from our CSA as well as fresh parsley and basil from CSA. Added a couple of bay leaves as well. Freezes great. Will add mushrooms, green pepper and sausage when we pull from the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This sauce is super easy and yummy how ever way too peppery. after reading other reviews i only used 1 tbs in mine and it was still too much pepper for my kids. next time i will use .5 tbs. otherwise an excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin E White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this recipe to use with cheese ravioli. And I actually modified it a little. I added some plain canned tomatoe sauce. I boiled some roma tomatoes until skin started to break then peeled them>. I combined the canned tomatoe sauce and cooked tomatoes and put them in the blender along with the onion. After this I followed the recipe and added some basil too. I actually didn't simmer for an hour and simmered for much less. Taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is great! I had been looking for a recipe that started with real FRESH tomatoes so that I could preserve the delicious local tomatoes we'd been getting this summer. This is the perfect recipe - it's got a bit of spice and pepper, which I like and can be a great base for a lot of different things including spaghetti or pizza sauce. I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I make this once a week, my family LOVES it! I wanted to find something to use all the tomatos in my garden. This sauce has such a great flavor to it, my husband gives me compliments everytime I make it, and my kids love it too which is always nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was easy and tastes great. The ingredients are fool proof. I added half a red onion (sautéed with garlic and butter) and used a mix of tomatoes from the garden (red, yellow, green). I also used brown sugar and fresh herbs (liberal amounts). I had plenty to freeze for the winter. I took out a cup to use as bruschetta after about 15 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I had half the tomatoes and used half the salt, and one-half teaspoon pepper, the rest of the ingredients I used at the full strength (so double the recipe). It tastes great, like a healthy store-bought sauce. Also, I put in 1/4 tsp. baking soda to lower the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
We used organic, farmer's market tomatoes (red and yellow) in this recipe and it was to die for! Used red chopped red onion (more like a 1/4 a cup) and left out the sugar. PERFECT chicken and pasta topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States