Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Love this sauce and used it for canning. I added a little more sugar, about a 1/4 cup. I like my sauce a bit sweeter. I also add tomato paste to thicken it up. My family Loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Yummmm! I don't think I can go back to jar sauce after making this delicious tomato sauce. I made it twice in one week. I did cut down on the amount of tomatoes by half(because that was all I had) and cut down on the pepper as others recommended. I also left out the chili powder just because we don't like it. I added a tsp of dried basil. The tomatoes were very acidic so I added a little extra sugar and 1 tsp baking soda and cooked for 2 hours instead of 1. The sauce was thick and oh-so-yummy! Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was great and so easy to make! We had a lot of tomatoes from the garden that we needed use so I decided on this recipe. I made it as is. I crushed the tomatoes in our Vitamix. It was a little spicy from all the black pepper which was perfect for me and my husband but my 9 year old daughter asked me to make it less spicy next time although she loved it too. I will be making this often with all our extra tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Really good! Had no onions nor oregano, but added celery and it was wonderful. Also put in some green peppers to have something to chew on in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Best tomato sauce i've ever had. thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This is the perfect recipe for any beginner who wants to stay away from canned tomatoes. Every recipe I found before this one used tomato paste, even in my "fancy" cookbook. It's so easy to make and tastes better than any jarred sauce I've had. I do a few things differently when I make it these days, but it's a great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Awesome recipe. Will definately make this again. I made a quadruple batch and canned them in jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I added 1 Tbsp of sugar, more garlic, more oregano and 1 Tbsp of beef soup powder. Very good to use up garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Peloquin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This is one of the best tomato sauces I have ever had. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States