Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I used 2 lbs crushed tomatoes from my garden and canned crushed to make up the difference. Everything else I kept the same and it was absolutely wonderful, flavorful sauce. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I am not big on tomato sauce but have a million tomatoes from my garden and wanted to use some up. This was easy, used things I had on hand and turned out good. Now I can jar some up and give it to people who like tomato sauce :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraZee A

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I know folks hate modifications, but I made a few. I started out pretty true to the recipe. I boiled the tomatoes for a minute and put them in cool water to remove the skins (personal preference). Then I chopped them up. Used beef Better Than Bouillon rather than salt. A little more onion. Minced garlic from a jar instead of powdered. Skipped parsley. Everything else was the same. Then I made adjustments. Since I had some fresh mushrooms that needed to be used, I sautéed those and added them. Put in a can of tomato paste to thicken a bit. Re-seasoned, including some "Italian Seasoning" (salt-free), and some more sugar because the tomatoes were a bit tart. I used home-grown tomatoes. My husband said he can't remember ever having better spaghetti! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is the first time I have attempted to make tomato sauce. I followed this recipe to the letter except, per another review, used teaspoon measure instead of tablespoon of black pepper.. It tastes wonderful! I ate two bowls of it as soup it was so good. Now I wish I hadn't given as many tomatoes away earlier in the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I was surprised at how good this tomato sauce was!! No one believed I made it from scratch!! I followed the recipe to a T, except I used less tomatoes ( I only had about 8 small tomatoes on hand). I do think there was a lot of olive oil in the sauce, but it could've been because I didn't use the full amount of tomatoes. All in all, this is my new go to recipe! I'll never buy a jar again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe. I added one jalepeno and one cayenne pepper to make it a bit more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Used fresh tomatoes from our garden as well as fresh oregano, basil, and parsley. Also added minced garlic and a can of tomato paste to thicken it up. Since my husband loves a sweeter sauce I added a 1/3 cup of brown sugar. Let is simmer on very low for 2-3 hours. HUGE hit poured over fresh cheese ravioli. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by m3shelly
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Tried this sauce with fresh tomatoes from my garden. It tasted fantastic! I added real garlic, like most others who rated. I thought mine turned out a little watery, with liquid separating after putting the sauce on top of pasta, but I think that was my fault. I let the simmering get away from me for a few minutes, and it turned into a rapid boil, which I think caused the tomatoes to separate into solid/liquid. It still tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Pick up a box of beautiful Roma tomatoes and used them in making this sauce. I have made a triple batch of this and froze it a couple of times now. It is WONDERFUL! It is a great basic recipe for a homemade tomato sauce and you can adjust the ingredients to your tastes. I made the recipe just as it reads the first time and the second time I added some wine and fresh herbs. Love using the 2nd version for bruschetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Love this sauce and used it for canning. I added a little more sugar, about a 1/4 cup. I like my sauce a bit sweeter. I also add tomato paste to thicken it up. My family Loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States