Tomato Sauce with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This was a great change of pace recipe and quick to fix. Will definately make this again. Did not rate child reaction as I don't have any kids in the house anymore but imagine they would probably like it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This is great! I married into an Italian family, and have always been lovingly teased about my use of 'canned' sauce. I decided to try this as my first attempt at 'home-made' sauce and invited the in-laws over for dinner (think Marie of Everybody Loves Raymond!) LOL! They were impressed and my kids gave it a 'two thumbs up'! The only difference is I used dried basil, added a bit of oregano, and a lil more garlic. This is super easy to make and even better.......it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Made this while pregnant, froze it into serving-size portions, and have had MANY quick pasta dishes that taste like I simmered the sauce all day! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Very good, I use this recipe all the time but add 2 tbsp italian seasoning and 1 tsp oregano. I usually double the recipe, add 1 12oz can of paste and 4 cups of water and let it cook down until slightly thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This sauce is delicious. I made it with venison sausage and added red crushed pepper. Every bite was absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This was excellent sauce. My kids don't like the chunks of tomatoes, so I used tomatoe sauce instead. No need to alter this recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This sauce was tasty and relatively quick to make. I used half the amount of olive oil, substituted Han's Garlic and Fontina Chicken Sausage, and served with whole wheat pasta. The fresh basil really makes this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This was delicious! I like that there a not that many ingredients. I've always been "sauce" challenged, but this was great. I just made a few changes: I omitted the paste, used crushed tomatoes instead of whole peeled ones, and added just a touch of oregano. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was excellent! My husband was asking me to make something like this that he ate a lot as a kid. Well it fit the bill! He said it was wonderful. The only thing I changed was that I sliced the sausage into 1 inch chunks because that's how my hubby likes it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Great recipe! I didn't use the onion and instead of the tomato paste/tomatoes/water I used 2 jars of tomato sauce. The sausage, basil, and garlic really play well together. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States