Tomato Risotto in Minutes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
my hubby loves this. I'm ok with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was very rich and tomatoe-ey, and was a great side dish for our meat and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I understand that this is called *tomato risotto* but, even so, the tomato flavor is just too overpowering. Hubby and I agreed that this needs something else. The recipe, as written, makes alot so we have quite a bit left over that I'm going to try to improve on. Maybe some basil, mozzarella, corn...something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This is really good! I was without a stove for a couple of days and found this while I was looking for stoveless recipes. I'm usually pretty skeptical of microwave cooking, but this recipe works well. I only needed 10 minutes for the final round of cooking - you don't really want "all" of the liquid to absorb or your risotto won't be as creamy as you probably want it. Anyway, great recipe. I'd like to try it again replacing the tomato sauce with chicken broth and white wine. P.S. I was not able to find Red Gold brand in my area. I used garlic/olive oil canned tomatoes and added my own herbs. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
took a good bit longer than it said but was very good all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used what I had in my pantry--Jasmine rice (1 cup), 1 can of petite-diced tomatoes (as I believe 2 cans would be too much), some dry Italian seasoning, and an 8oz can of tomato sauce. I reduced the butter to 2 tablespoons. Rice definitely doesn't need to be microwaved for entire 10-12 minutes in the last step. It turned out creamy and very flavorful. Family loved it! I did add a few tablespoons of water after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This was so easy and delicious! I was pleasantly surprised with how creamy it turned out. The only change I made was to use only one can of tomatoes, which was definetely enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is a terrific recipe. Being the Doubting Thomas that I am, I really didn't think the risotto would cook up so easily so I halfed the recipe. I prepared the recipe using the exact same times as indicated and I have to tell you that the end result was a very rich, creamy and tender tomato risotto. I was clearly impressed. This is an easy recipe to follow and I imagine that you could change the tomato to plain chicken stock with mushrooms and get the same delicious results. I will definitely be making this lots. Note to file: When the risotto cools down and thickens just add a tablespoon of water or liquid to thin it out. Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States