Tomato-Rich Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
WOW! This recipe should have hundreds of rave reviews! This is 5 star although I made a few changes out of necessity. Here's what I did. 1. Skipped the 1st step since I used Trader Joe's minced sundried tomatoes in olive oil. 2. Used shrimp stock I had on hand in place of clam juice. Yum! 3. Had no fresh herbs so used 1 tsp thyme and 1 tsp basil and a bit of celery seed. 4. I did use a good red wine, but just a half cup, making up the difference with more shrimp broth. 4. This is the most surprising part. Made the recipe thru step 3 and let it sit for several hours before completing it for suppertime. The flavors deepened, and seemed so different than when it was first simmered. 5. Used 1.5 lbs. of monkfish and threw in some shrimp too. There was plenty of leftover sauce so tonight I'll throw in some cod after I bring the sauce to a simmer. I know already that this recipe is adaptable and versatile and it will be a regular in our house. THANKS JEAN CARPER! Everyone should try this unusual and divine way to make a fish stew that is so healthy and does not include potatoes or cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Claudia particularly liked this dish. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have made this several times and it always gets great reviews. I make it pretty much as is except for mixing the fresh herbs up, using sun-dried tomatoes in oil (use drained oil to saute onion and green pepper), but have never used the fennel seeds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This recipe was really good. The only change I made was to add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
LOVED this recipe, even with substitutions I needed to make (home grown tomatoes, Northern beans for Navy, etc.)...my teenager just said, "We'll definitely have to make that one again!" 3 Thumbs up!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Singleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Another delicious and easy way to eat fish. I used a mixture of Grouper, Spanish Mackerel, can of chopped tomatoes, sherry and didn't use water on the sun-dried tomatoes. All sauteed in pot and fish went in last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This stew is sooo good. I used fresh basil and thyme (along with dry rosemary) and added shrimp, little necks and scallops along with tilapia. My husband and I really enjoyed this hearty, healthy meal and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Favorite Auntie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Instantly became a go-to meal for my husband and me - can see this cold in the summer. The stew with rosemary sourdough bread from Whole Foods made a robust but healthy meal, with lots left over for the next day(s) or to freeze. The prep was easy - and somewhat time-consuming. Only two changes: halved the fennel seed; added a few more olives since I'm an olive addict. Used about 1.5 Tbsp fresh rosemary and a couple pinches of dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
It looked good, but the taste didn't live up to expectations. The flavours just weren't up to par, so I had to add a lot of my own seasonings while cooking, and also after it was served. This stew also doesn't do well as leftovers. I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was delicious, full of flavor, and fairly quick and easy considering the somewhat long list of ingredients. The only change I made was to omit the beans. Others have commented that the fennel was too strong, but I thought it significantly improved the flavor without being overpowering. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States