Tomato-Rich Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was really very good! I, like all cooks, made a few changes, however. I didn't use fennel see, but instead used anise seed because it is essentially the same thing, but can be purchased for much cheaper in the Mexican food isle. I also used a can of clams in place of one of the bottles of juice (again for financial reasons). I added the juice from the can, and added the minced clams 2 minutes before serving. I also used sun dried tomatos packed in oil because I couldn't find the other kind at my home supermarket. Finally, I added the zest of one mandarin orange at the same time as the other spices. This really added a lot to this delicious stew. My husband was really impressed =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made this soup for my wife and I. It really turned out good. I used two cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes, added chopped broccoli and carots, pepper flakes and used 2 Tbl. of cooking sherry instead of the dry red wine (didn't have any). I also let it sit overnight in the frig to let the flavors combine. This is definitely worth making again. Greg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Wonderful recipe. We tried this because we had some leftover tuna, crab, shrimp and oysters from a night we made our own sushi. We put it all in and pretty much followed the recipe only leaving out the fennel and olives which we did not have on hand. Came out great. I imagine any combination of fish would work fine in this dish. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I had to tweak this recipe, as I most always do because I try to work with what I have on hand (so as to not let anything end up being unused and forgotten for too long and left to waste)... We didn't have any bell peppers (shame), so I substituted about 1/3 of a bag of peas instead. I also had only one bottle of clam juice. I had no fresh herbs to put in, but I just used Herbs de Provence and that's just as good as anything. I had about half a cup of Moroccan oil-cured olives, so I used those... I didn't have any beans and I used canned tuna, but nevertheless, despite all that, it still turned out fantastic. I added the juice of a lemon too, of course, and some spice (probably Cholula, cayenne and/or curry, but I forget).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This soup was easy to make and smelled wonderful while stewing. When I first ate it, I thought it had too much fennel and made a mental note to use less next time. Meanwhile, my husband thought there was too much rosemary (I would've preferred to use basil if I could've gotten fresh), and I have to admit we didn't actually measure the rosemary, but we weren't too far off from 4T. It was still great though, just strongly herbiferized. The good news, however, is that the soup was perfect the next day, just what I'd hoped for. I honestly think it compares to the celebrated name-sake chowder served in one of Ann Arbor's more swanky restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food&Drink
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is absolutely outstanding. I add an 8 oz can of clams in the juice, and i also find that I like it better without the beans. It doesn't need it! Tilapia works beautifully for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I used leftovers from a basic fish (cod)/ tomato/ herb recipe from On Rue Tatin as a base for this stew, adding missing ingredients (except beans and more fish. The tomatoes were also all fresh from end of season garden. Great, great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was delicious! I couldn't find a can of navy beans so I used a different type of white bean instead and it turned out great! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was delicious, full of flavor, and fairly quick and easy considering the somewhat long list of ingredients. The only change I made was to omit the beans. Others have commented that the fennel was too strong, but I thought it significantly improved the flavor without being overpowering. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This soup was very easy to prepare and delicious. Pulling from items I had on hand, I used sun-dried tomatoes in oil chopped fine, and I did not puree them in the blender. I did not have a green pepper, so I used 1 diced red pepper and 2 finely diced jalapenos. I also used canned, fire-roasted diced tomatoes, 1 t of dried rosemary and 1 T of dried thyme with fresh tilapia. This stew was excellent, and is now in my regular rotation. My husband gives this a four because he doesn't care for olives. The sissy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States