Tomato Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
One of the best tasting soups ever! For a vegetarian meal I left out the scallops and used a homemade veggie broth. I also changed to brown rice (because that's what I had). I had to add 1 more cup of broth and it still turns out very thick but my hubby and I prefer it that way. For a bit more flavour I doubled the basil, so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoeDisco

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by LISABGOLD
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was really good. I added some garlic to the vegs. Instead of 2 cups chicken broth I used 3/4 white wine and the rest chicken broth. I added about a Tbsp of lemon juice before adding the scallops. I didn't find this thick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
This was delicious soup and easy and quick to make. The scallops were a great addition. I added 3 cans of water because we like our soup less thick. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This is one of the best soup recipes I have ever eaten. I don't care much for basil, so I didn't put much in. I can't wait to share this recipe with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This recipe has become a family favorite. Sometimes I substitute a big bag of mixed seafood (calamari, shrimp, cod, etc.) for the scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This may be the best soup I have ever made. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I've made this soup following the recipe, and also with my own changes. Both were delicious. To change, I used cooked orzo pasta instead of rice and replaced the seafood with chicken. Note though, the orzo soaked up a LOT of the liquid and got so big and fat that the soup turned into a stew. Still very yummy though! Oh, and I also added a splash of white wine to the veggies when sauteing them, as I always seem to have some leftover wine in the fridge. It gives the finished product a nice depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was SOOOO good and really healthy. I by used quinoa instead of rice and added some garlic with the veggies in the beginning. I also threw in some spinach and lemon juice at the end. I used frozen scallops because that is all I had and it turned out great. Really solid lunch recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Excellent!!! Needed a meat-free dish quickly for the first Friday in Lent, and by doing an ingredient search on this site for what I had on hand - scallops and basil - came up with this. I was a little nervous, but it is outstanding! Hubby raved; I already can't wait for lunch tomorrow so i can have leftovers. Filling, delicious, and the scallops add such an elegant touch. You could serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
My wife insists on 5 stars but she is not yet ready for the scallops! I added a bay leaf, two strips of finely chopped green pepper. I used a 10 ounce can of condensed fat-free chicken consomme (don't forget to add one can of water) plus one more can of hot water with one heaping teaspoon of chicken broth powder (don't add any more salt). It made the soup more liquid and less stew-like. This is now my wife's favorite Tomato Rice soup (after her mother's of course!!!). It tastes even better the next day after being refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States