Tomato Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Yummo! I made this recipe and took the suggestion of precious reviewers and altered it a tad. I substituted 2 cans of diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce, omitted the fennel seeds (didn't have any), and used powdered hot sauce instead of chili powder because that's what I had....my husband loved it! It was easy to make and had great flavor. I served it with egg noddles and steamed broccoli- very good. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe was yummy. I served it over basmati rice and my husband loved it! I too left out the fennel (neither one of us like it), and used stewed tomatoes instead of sauce. I seasoned the chops prior to cooking and left everything else exactly as the recipe said. It will be on my new menu rotation! I would like to add that if the pork is tough, it was probably frozen prior to cooking. Freezing meat denatures the protein of the meat and makes it tough. I suggest that for the most tender and flavorful dishes, use fresh meat. This is especially true for steaks, roasts, chicken breasts and chops (solid cuts of meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
383 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I love this recipe! It's one of my favorites. I especially love the fennel - I double it. I crush the fennel and add it with the sugar when I cook the onion. I double the tomato sauce and add a can of diced tomato, substituting the juice for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZWILDCATFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I cut this recipe in half and cooked it according to recipe directions with the exception of the tomato sauce and water. I too, thought that a 1/2 can of diced tomatoes would be better. Me and my husband loved it. The fennel gave it a wonderful aroma and taste. I will be adding this to our repertoire of favorite recipes. Thank you Mlyin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
this was excellent. I used pork tenderloin rather than loin chops, and I substituted fresh fennel (1 cup) for the seed. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
The sauce was tasty but the pork was very bland. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good, and easy. And, thankfully, a good pork chop recipe not so heavy in sugar that my diet can't handle it! It's always nice to find healthy and tasty in one dish. I spiced the pork chops before browning, as per some other suggestions I saw a couple of people called this tough--- I really have no clue how that could be with all the liquids in the recipe, unless they spent too long browning or had freezer-burned chops. Mine were VERY moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Hot~n~Divine
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this tonight, it was a very easy and tasty dish. I followed the suggestions of the previous posters and utilized a can of diced tomatoes with my 6 cutlets. I didn't have any fennel, so I had to omit that as well. I loved all the spices and would recommend seasoning your pork loins before browning. I also added two cloves of crushed garlic while cooking the sliced onions. I also added a bit of Italian salad dressing while it simmered. Next time I won't add the water either, although it didn't hurt the taste. I made a side of rice, with green beans and bisquits. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Hot~n~Divine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
It was okay...wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Very simple, quick and delicious. I followed recipe exactly except for decreasing the amount of chili powder and it was still very spicy. I am rating it 4 stars because this should be called SPICY Tomato Pork Loin Chops. I served it with the boxed Pasta Roni - Angel Hair Pasta with Parmesean cheese -it was a great compliment and absorbed some of the heat!!!! Salad was another "cool" addition! I will make this again. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States