Tomato Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
My husband and I both thought this was absolutely delicious. I made it as written, except that I skimped on the chili powder (used about 1 1/2 tsp. instead of 2) and only a pinch of red pepper flakes. The heat was just right for us. I had thought about putting in some garlic as some of the reviews mentioned, but forgot to add it with the onions--and honestly, I wonder if garlic might not be too overpowering. This sauce is all about the sweetness and flavor of the onions. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
workrd great except it is spicy. i left out the fennel, because I dont care for that taste. served it over rice, its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ketron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
My husband loved this recipe and said the chops were tender, which seems to always be a problem for me unless I put them in a slow cooker. I haven't tried them myself but will try the leftovers. I too left out the fennel and water and used a can of diced tomatoes and added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This recipe was delicious! Flavor combinations were great! Loved the little kick of spice! I did two things different - I added 1 clove of chopped garlic to onions, and I only lightly crushed the fennel seeds in order to hold back some of the flavor. I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Zattosky Zikmund

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
My fiance and I both enjoyed these chops. I seasoned the chops first and then browned them. Thanks for the enjoyable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahottchicka

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was hoping for a little more uummpff. To make this spicier i added some hot sauce. I also added garlic. My son I both ate it and it was okay, but probably not something that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
My only changes for this recipe was to only use 1/4 tsp. of the red pepper flakes and add a crushed garlic clove. The sauce thickened up a little too much so I added 1/4 cup of chicken broth near the end to make sure it had enough moisture to simmer. Taste was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I really liked this recipe, my kids liked it too. I halved the chili powder as suggested in other reviews. I really liked the fennel seed flavor. It really added a nice touch. We served over brown rice and it was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was very tasty, I left out the fennel because I didn't have any but I think next time I would use the diced tomatoes and a little less chili powder for my daughter and then the sauce would be great over rice or noodles. I served it with rice and green beans. My chops were about an inch thick and came out very juicy. I almost forgot, I also coated the chops in flour and seasoning salt before I fried them, personal preferrence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindylea13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This was good and very tasty. I would leave out or reduce the fennel seed next time, since it can tend to be overpowering. I overcooked the pork chops, but they still turned out pretty good after semi-braising in the cooking liquid. I used a can of diced tomatoes and no water instead of the tomato sauce. Served with Pasta Roni's parmesan angel hair and green beans. Great, fast weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Joseph, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States