Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sds1
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
delicious! makes me feel like a real chef....I love this app.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I have made a recipe very similar to this for long time now. Learned it when I was living in Memphis, TN. The recipe I have calls for green tomatoes and no bacon. I recommend the green tomatoes, the tang they add to this recipe is great. I might try adding the bacon in mine, I mean everything's better with bacon right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amandabb
Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Loved it! Very good with fresh summer tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made this with fresh tomatoes from the garden. It was excellent! I used 4 cheese Mexican and it was perfect. also cooked the pie crust first. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
The pepper was overwhelming and the taste of the basil got lost. Definitely not something we'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This recipe was pretty good! I used mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar. I also mixed some parmesan cheese into the mozzarella/mayo combo. I wish I would have pre-baked my crust as it did get a little soggy, but everyone loved it and my kids had seconds. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made this pie yesterday, got rave reviews from my wife and In-laws. I did bake the crust for 10 minutes, and drain the tomatoes. will try next time with Romas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
The idea of tomato pie turned me off initially. I confess I had not heard of such a thing, but was I in for a treat! I have eaten this recipe on many occasions and it just doesn't get old. I think it is bursting with flavor and has a decent amount of kick with the red pepper flakes. If you have a sensitive tongue, try cutting back or eliminating the pepper flakes altogether, but I think the combination of flavors is wonderful. I've only used garden fresh tomatoes in the summer so I don't know if the grocery store tomatoes would give the same flavor or not. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Loved it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Awesome. Even my picky teenage son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States