Tomato-Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Good, but I wouldn't make again. I agree with the reviewer that stated it seemed like something that would be used as a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This soup was SO much better than I expected it to be; delicious in fact! Truth be told, I really only made it because I was over zealous during my last grocery shopping trip, buying more than I ended up having a need for in a timely fashion. This included a boat load of mushrooms, perfect for this recipe. I used a combination of shitakes and baby bellas, which I think gave this soup a bolder mushroom flavor than the more common button mushrooms would have. I added the red wine to the pan before the broth and tomato paste, preferring to let it cook off a bit and let its flavor mellow. I used no water, as I didn’t see any reason to dilute flavor. Rather, I used a combination of beef and chicken broth. I thought this would be a weak, wimpy, flat tasting soup, but I couldn’t have been more wrong. The bold flavored mushrooms already gave it a deep, rich flavor and the red wine and tomato paste gave it incredible complexity. I suppose one could add a lot of things to this if for some reason they felt compelled to, like herbs, rice, pasta, spinach or other vegetables, meat, etc., but this soup is perfect, simple, delicious, and satisfying just as is. In fact, I think it would be diminished if its simplicity was messed with. Humble served with a grilled cheese sandwich, elegant as a first course for a more formal dinner, I’ll have to remember to buy a boat load of mushrooms more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Delicious just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I thought this was great. I followed the recipe pretty closely and it came out nicely. The only thing I did differently was that I tossed in about a cup of brown rice in the mushroom step to brown. Then, instead of just heating the whole thing through, as the directions say, I let it come to a boil, reduced the heat to simmer and gave the rice about ten minutes to cook. The soup didn't need the rice though, I just had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
we didn't have red wine, so i used port. i didn't use any butter or cheese, and i used vegetable broth. instead of garnishing with the parsley, i put a little bit in the pan with the olive oil, onions and garlic, and i let the rest of it soak in the broth and other wet ingredients. considering i improvised so much, i think it turned out very good (: thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
so easy and delicious. the wine really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Seriously, this is an excellent (and fast!) soup! I don't give out 5 stars just any 'ol day :). The only change I made was to add a couple squirts of Worcestershire sauce as I had no red wine opened (I don't drink wine, so for me to waste a bottle but for a measly 1/4 cup would be silly). I did use 2 fresh, roma tomatoes (deseeded) instead of the tomato paste. Add the tomatoes to the sauted onions, garlic and mushrooms let the tomatoes cook down before you add the broth. I did not add any water as the soup would have been too thin. Use lots of fresh ground pepper, and I added a teensy pinch of salt as without the canned tomato paste, there really isn't any salt and it would be bland otherwise. Wonderful, filling lunch (and relatively low-fat) and will be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
An OK soup. Not bad, but not overwhelmingly good. I followed the recipe except I didn't have red wine so used sherry and white wine instead, so perhaps that was what was missing, but it just did not stand out to me. My search continues for the perfect non creamy mushroom soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This soup was great, and easy to make too. The red wine really gives it a full flavor. The mushrooms soaked up the savory flavors of the broth and I found them to be the best part of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I used less fat (1 teaspoon of EVOO and light butter), two types of mushrooms, all low sodium beef broth and a Shiraz wine (what we had open). And fresh basil at the end because we don't often have fresh parsley. Two of us ate the entire pan for lunch! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States