Tomato-Mint Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I recently found and fell in love with quinoa and have been making all sorts of dishes with it. This one did not disappoint! I wasn't able to find tomatoes I was happy with, so I instead used grape tomatoes. I also cut the radishes into smaller chunks os that you could get more of everything in each bite. I took the salad to my dad's house for a Labor Day bbq this weekend and everybody loved it! It's really flavorful and refreshing- I wasn't sure how the mint would go with everything, but it really is a perfect blend of flavors. I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LizzieCookin
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used olive oil instead of sesame oil and fresh basil instead of parsley because that's what I had. It was fantastic. I can't wait to have it again in lettuce wraps for an easy lunch. Such a fantastic fresh recipe. The raisins were a great sweet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I made this exactly according to recipe, and it's fantastic. I'm glad I didn't veto the raisins which sounded weird or sesame oil. Something about all these things together is magic. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I was actually a bit too nervous to use the sesame oil for this recipe, so I swapped for olive. I took out the cucumbers and added black beans and a smidge more cumin than was called for. It turned out really good! Would have been good with some fresh summer corn too, to add a little more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was an okay salad, but I had higher expectation for it especially since I love quinoa. The sesame-cumin-lime combination was odd, and the whole thing was too acidic for me. On day two I made lettuce wraps of it, and the sweetness of the romaine really helped round out the sharp flavors. I want to try this with something like fresh strawberries added for a touch of sweet and see what that does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wicked good! I added a little cilantro to this and used cherry tomatoes (like others suggested). I also used fewer radishes as I am not a huge fan. What a refreshing salad with some great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I was really board with plain quinoa and this was just a tasty treat. It was a lot of work to chop everything up but it was great in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I feel like there is too much going on in this salad. The only thing I did differently was use celery instead of cucumber; oh, and I cut the radish into smaller pieces. Btw, this recipe says this is four servings - maybe if you're feeding giants!! I have too much leftover after a dinner of ten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This is a great recipe for lunches!!! Quickly put up together, and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
wonderful. doesn't even need oranges or anything else to make it sweet. i was starving so i didn't let it sit for a while. it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFAITHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States