Tomato-Mint Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was my first time using Quinoa and my husband, dinner guests and I all loved it! I left out the radishes (I did not have any in the house) and I added feta cheese (1/3 cup). A delicious salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LizzieCookin
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used olive oil instead of sesame oil and fresh basil instead of parsley because that's what I had. It was fantastic. I can't wait to have it again in lettuce wraps for an easy lunch. Such a fantastic fresh recipe. The raisins were a great sweet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
wonderful. doesn't even need oranges or anything else to make it sweet. i was starving so i didn't let it sit for a while. it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFAITHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I recently found and fell in love with quinoa and have been making all sorts of dishes with it. This one did not disappoint! I wasn't able to find tomatoes I was happy with, so I instead used grape tomatoes. I also cut the radishes into smaller chunks os that you could get more of everything in each bite. I took the salad to my dad's house for a Labor Day bbq this weekend and everybody loved it! It's really flavorful and refreshing- I wasn't sure how the mint would go with everything, but it really is a perfect blend of flavors. I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This is a great recipe for lunches!!! Quickly put up together, and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I made this exactly according to recipe, and it's fantastic. I'm glad I didn't veto the raisins which sounded weird or sesame oil. Something about all these things together is magic. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Interesting combination of flavors; used sesame oil and raisins per recipe and am glad I did as gave it a more unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalia
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I loved this recipe. I reduced the sesame oil to 1 TBSP (I often find it overpowering) and added more raisins and mint - to me, these were the 2 best flavors. It was absolutely delicious and so easy to make. I used the leftovers as dressing for some homemade falafel, which I fried and put into a pita flatbread. It was a nice alternative to the typical cucumber/tomato/onion mixture, and went great with the garlic, mint and sour cream sauce I whipped up on the fly. I would definitely make this salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wicked good! I added a little cilantro to this and used cherry tomatoes (like others suggested). I also used fewer radishes as I am not a huge fan. What a refreshing salad with some great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is a huge hit, even with college boys. I wasn't sure about the radishes and mint, but this combo alongside the lime juice and cumin makes this a refreshing and delicious side dish for any summertime menu! In my latest versions, I tend to omit the cucumbers (since I don't like them) and find that a touch of olive oil works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States