Tomato-Mint Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
In the end this recipe was yummy but my boyfriend and I thought the parsley, lime flavor was weird and a little over-powering. Maybe it's just a personal preference or maybe I didn't measure correctly, I'm not sure but it was definitely too strong for us and we both normally like strong flavors. The other thing was that it took a loooong time to to chop everything up. I might try a more simple version next time that involves toasting the quinoa after boiling to bring out that nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This salad was delicious!! I made a few modifications. I boiled the quinoa with the raisins, onion, and celery (I added this). I mixed the dressing in a separate container and used just a few dashes of sesame oil, and added olive oil. I then poured the dressing into the mixture slowly as I mixed it all up. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I really liked this recipe. Will likely make again. I don't care for raisins, I put them in this time but might omit in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I followed recipe as written and it was delicious! A great way to serve quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is a huge hit, even with college boys. I wasn't sure about the radishes and mint, but this combo alongside the lime juice and cumin makes this a refreshing and delicious side dish for any summertime menu! In my latest versions, I tend to omit the cucumbers (since I don't like them) and find that a touch of olive oil works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wicked good! I added a little cilantro to this and used cherry tomatoes (like others suggested). I also used fewer radishes as I am not a huge fan. What a refreshing salad with some great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I feel like there is too much going on in this salad. The only thing I did differently was use celery instead of cucumber; oh, and I cut the radish into smaller pieces. Btw, this recipe says this is four servings - maybe if you're feeding giants!! I have too much leftover after a dinner of ten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalia
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I loved this recipe. I reduced the sesame oil to 1 TBSP (I often find it overpowering) and added more raisins and mint - to me, these were the 2 best flavors. It was absolutely delicious and so easy to make. I used the leftovers as dressing for some homemade falafel, which I fried and put into a pita flatbread. It was a nice alternative to the typical cucumber/tomato/onion mixture, and went great with the garlic, mint and sour cream sauce I whipped up on the fly. I would definitely make this salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Interesting combination of flavors; used sesame oil and raisins per recipe and am glad I did as gave it a more unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I made this exactly according to recipe, and it's fantastic. I'm glad I didn't veto the raisins which sounded weird or sesame oil. Something about all these things together is magic. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States