Tomato Gorgonzola Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Very, very good soup and super easy! I used whole milk instead of cream and it turned out great. I also blended the soup to give it a nicer texture.Finally, I used neufchatel cheese to cut back on a few calories. Will be passing this on for sure! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
My friend made this recipe for a party this past weekend, and everyone raved. She added a few special touches that I wrote on my copy of the recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Due to what I had available this was great with the following alterations: minus the cream and tomato juice, plus 2 cups vegetable stock, another cup/8 oz. (I used fresh, peeled) chopped tomatoes (3 tomatoes), substituting bleu for gorgonzola, and fresh shredded basil and parsley which I added on a whim; this was very nice. SO savory, and elegant. Paired with a simple green salad, some homemade lox and a dry white wine it was a nice Friday evening supper. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
A wonderful flavored soup with the cheese taste the topper. I to used an immersion blender to make the soup creamier. I made the soup and then refrigerated it until ready to be served. When reheating, use low heat as it should not come to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doughok

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I've only made one other recipe, so I suppose saying this is 'the best' may not carry a lot of merit, but this would easily be a soup you would find in a nice restaurant. I didn't have cream so I used straight milk and since I didn't have tomato juice, was making it out of tomato paste (3/4 c paste + 1 cup water to make tomato sauce, then equal parts sauce/water to make juice) so I added in an extra teaspoon or two of paste as a thickener. It was excellent. I pureed the whole thing and my kids, husband and myself dipped grilled cheese sandwiches into it. Definitely something I'm going to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I adjusted the servings to 10 and made this for a teachers luncheon for PTA at my daughters school. The PTA president told me there was a little conflict on who got the last bowl. Don't be afrad to try this if youre not reall fond of gorganzola or blue cheese. i hate both, but this is oneof my favorite soups. the cheese just gives it a creaminess that is sooooo good! LOVE THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA
Living In: Groves, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Great ( and easy) recipe! I doubled this recipe for a ladies luncheon and glad I did! It was a hit! I even used reduced fat cream cheese and half-n-half in place of heavy cream. Although next time I might reduce the amount of cream cheese a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Wow! Wow! Wow! I didn't have any gorgonzola, so I used all cream cheese and it turned out DELICIOUS!!! Can only imagine how it will taste with gorgonzola! And.... I LIKED mine chunky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made this soup for a party. EVERYONE loved it!! I roasted the red pepper first and removed the skin. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I loved this recipe! Very adaptable. Also, I added spinach to mine just to try it--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States