Tomato Florentine Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I cooked this soup and found the whole family loved it. It was easy to prepare and cooked quickly. With vegetables from the garden this was a nice meal, I served soup, salad and sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This was so fast and easy. I just doubled the recipe and threw it in the crock, boy was that an easy meal. Grilled cheese goes great with this one too. Thanks for the recipe Karen. DA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
YUM, this is a nice change from Campbells which I have quite often for lunch...and LOVE, (and recently figured out that my littlest guy loves it too!). Well, I had no Campbells, and was craving grilled cheese w/ tomato soup so here I am. The baby & I both enjoyed this for lunch today. It was great, because I usually add pasta to his anyway, (so that it is easier for him to eat) and he didn't seem to notice the veges, so that was a plus as well! I cut the recipe to 2 servings so I skipped the tomato juice & paste BUT I used 1 can of Rold Gold "thick & rich tomato sauce" (which by the way is REALLY thick so it made up for the juice & paste). Next time I will leave out the carrots, I wasn't to fond of the taste they brought on. Good soup, I will use this again for sure! Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
My family did not like this recipe at all. It didn't have enough seasoning to it. I will never make it again. I had to throw the whole pot out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Robinson Aleksovski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chadbourn, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Was not happy with this, seemed odd to add vegetables after the broth and it tasted like it! Broth was too thick, vegetables not cooked enough even though I added water, seasoning and cooked for much longer than called for in the hopes of a pleasant soup! I even held off adding the pasta with my former experiences of knowing that pasta breaks down if left to simmer in soup too long. With complete respect to the receipe submitter, I question the ingredients and the method to this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
The broth was a bit too thick for my tastes, and as a previous reviewer said, the veggies were a bit undercooked. Tomato Florentine soup is not the same thing as plain Tomato soup and usually I like Tomato Florentine broth a bit thinner and more seasoned. My husband enjoyed it but I think if I were to make this again I would cut back on some of the tomato ingredients (most likely the paste) and add more chicken stock for flavor and consistency. I would also recommend adding some of your favorite soup seasonings to spice it up a bit. Not a bad soup, just nothing amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This soup is not only delicious by quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This is delicious! Very hearty and filling. This is now in my regular rotation. Sommetimes I add more veggies, for a heartier soup. I have used frozen spinach, but fresh is so much better. I love it with a ton of fresh black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Edible but not enough seasonings. I had to really doctor this one up and still not sure what I put in it. Family did not like it. Will look for another recipe as this was not the kind of T.Florentine soup I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
The tomato paste was too much; it was like a super tomato soup with some veggies. I did add some basil and oregano to make it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States