Tomato Florentine Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I used fresh spinach instead of frozen, tomato sauce instead of tomato soup, added thin sliced carrots, and doubled the cooking time for a thicker consistency. Very good! I will likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I have been making this soup for years and it has never failed to impress my guests or myself. Sometimes when I am making meatballs I will make a pan of marble sized balls, freeze them up, bag them and throw a hand full into the soup as I am reheating it. Also sometimes instead of pasta I use rice. Great with Parmesan cheese sprinkled of top. It's all good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
OMG, I have been looking for this recipe for at least two decades! A Department store in Mobile, AL served this in their tea room and I loved it but could never find the recipe. The only thing I changed was i left out the condensed soup. I prefer a thinner consistency or a more broth like soup for this particular one. Leaving out the condensed soup made it perfect and I am glad I lived long enough to find this recipe (I am 70 yrs old). Thank you, thank you, thank you! I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I tried this recipe but added sundried tomatoes,a clove of garlic and garbanzo beans instead of pasta, used my pressure cooker for 15 min and it really was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is quick 'n easy, yet it tastes and feels like it's homemade from scratch. Not wanting to cook my pasta separately, I brought the tomato broth mixture to a boil, added 1/4c dry pasta and cooked until al dente. Then I reduced the heat to low, added about 8 oz of fresh baby spinach, torn, and cooked until wilted. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I think this is a great soup! It tastes great as is and you can change things up and it is still good! I usually add about 1/2 cup of sliced carrots, a 1/2 cup of sliced celery, and extra pasta! We also garnish with parmesan cheese. I call it my popeye soup, because it is so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooShell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Yummy! I've been looking for a Tomato Florentine soup close to the one I had at a little bagel shop I used to work for, this one came very close, and my husband loved this! I used small shell pasta and with the condensed soup I was a little weirded out since I don't like it so I tasted the soup and added the condensed a little at a time, ended up using about 1/2 a can of the soup. Next time I'll just leave it out and use a can of tomato sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
It was alright. I think I should have used a smaller pasta and put less of it. I felt like there was enough soup juice when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Tomato Florentine is one of my favorite soups. Thank you so much Marbalet! I used acini di pepe and bouillon cubes, but other than that followed to a letter... It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe directs. It was so good and very easy. If you don't like a lot of spinach, you may not want to add all of the spinach, as the recipe yields a generous amount. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States