Tomato Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Right up until the last minute I was tempted to add some cream or half-and-half to this for creaminess and extra richness. I resisted the urge and was rewarded with a bold, tomato soup that for some reason was creamy without it. I used tomatoes I had put up from my garden rather than canned (which doesn't necessarily make this any better if you use a good quality canned tomato), fresh dill rather than dried and no bay leaf. The dill flavor was not noticeable but this was delicious nonetheless. Hubs said it was reminiscent of a soup he really enjoys at the Purple Cafe and Wine Bar in downtown Seattle, high praise indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I used this recipe as the base for a delicious tomato soup, but I used lots of fresh tomatoes as well as canned ones, as well as fresh dill weed. After cooking it and putting it in the food processor, I added some plain yogurt and heavy cream to make a creamy tomato dill soup. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
good soup, but I made a couple of changes. First, it didn't have enough dill, so I doubled that, and I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. I made one more big change because I wanted it to be richer. I added 1/2 cup of half and half. I think next time I might try heavy cream next time. for the tomatoes, if you have half of them be diced and the other half be crushed, there isn't a need to puree it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This soup is fantastic; I have made it many times and have passed along this recipe to many friends, who also rave about this simple-to-make soup. I make triple batches of this soup in a slow cooker and freeze individual servings. This soup does freeze well and it's a real treat to have on a cold day. Fresh-tasting and hearty, this soup makes a terrific low fat and nutritious meal with some whole wheat crackers or warm crusty bread. I have found that using butter, instead of margarine, brings the soup to a new dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GVIGUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springvale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I found this recipe a couple weeks ago and I've already made it twice. It is amazingly good. There is a restaurant in town here that serves tomato dill soup that everyone raves about....well, this recipe is better. It's also a very inexpensive and satisfying meal with some fresh bread or a bagel. I leave the bay leaf out because, to me, it overpowers the dill and garlic flavors. Oh, and I double the garlic, and instead of the full can of chicken broth, I do a half can and a half can of whole milk...............CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracowherd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Fantastic soup! Have only had it cold so far. Wonderful body, good tomato flavor, with just enough dill to add another dimension. The only reason I down-rated this recipe was because it called for canned tomatoes...imagine how good it would taste with red summer-ripe tomatoes! (However, maybe the more concentrated taste of the canned ones actually work better!) I ended up substituting two large fresh tomatoes for one of the cans of broth. A colleague commented on how good the soup smelled...unusual for a cold souop to be so aromatic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this back in May and forgot to review it. This was very good and I still have some leftover in the freezer. I used fresh dill and regular diced tomatoes, rather than peeled. I used my emersion blender and pureed this right in the pan. Couldn't have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I adapted this for a friend on a fat-free liquid diet. I didnt add the sauted onions but put in a bit of both garlic powder and onion powder. I used fat-free broth diluted a bit, pureed with a hand blender then strained it to make it clear. Not only did it meet his dietary restrictions, it was delicious! He called me asking for the recipe because his wife was eating all "his" soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was great. I took the advice of some other reviewers and added a little half and half to make it creamy. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is the best tomato soup I ever had! The only change I made was to use italian diced tomatoes. No more can tomato soup for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States