Tomato Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
An excellent recipe! The original recipe is very good. I make three changes which, in my opinion, makes it even better. I use a tablespoon of dill weed, "no salt added" tomatoes, and add 2 tablespoons of cream after blending the soup. Also, I suggest using an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Yummy! A great recipe for some end-of-summer local tomatoes! I looove dill, so that was a delicious addition for me. I wasn't really sure about the "condensed" chicken broth, so I used regular...between that and the fact I didn't measure, I ended up with a soup that was slightly more watery than I would like, but it's still so tasty I don't really care. A little dollop of sour cream will add a nice touch of richness and tang that we like with our soup, so we're looking forward to a delicious soup with homemade bread for lunch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was great! I used fresh tomatoes, vegetable broth, and a cup of yummy homegrown basil as well. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDelinquentFairy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a terrific soup. The only thing I changed was tossing sour cream in at the tail end. So I made the soup, then on a per-bowl basis put the sour cream in. This way it keeps better. I also simmered it for a lot longer on very low, and more than doubled the amount of dill weed and garlic. It all depends on your taste. The first time I used Rotel chilis which resulted in a somewhat runny soup even after sour cream, so I had to corn starch the thing. The second time I used decent quality cans of diced tomatos and then blended it before starting to simmer. The result was an incredibly good, creamy tomato soup which my family absolutely loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this back in May and forgot to review it. This was very good and I still have some leftover in the freezer. I used fresh dill and regular diced tomatoes, rather than peeled. I used my emersion blender and pureed this right in the pan. Couldn't have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Right up until the last minute I was tempted to add some cream or half-and-half to this for creaminess and extra richness. I resisted the urge and was rewarded with a bold, tomato soup that for some reason was creamy without it. I used tomatoes I had put up from my garden rather than canned (which doesn't necessarily make this any better if you use a good quality canned tomato), fresh dill rather than dried and no bay leaf. The dill flavor was not noticeable but this was delicious nonetheless. Hubs said it was reminiscent of a soup he really enjoys at the Purple Cafe and Wine Bar in downtown Seattle, high praise indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was edible but too tomato-ey. I won't make it a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
AMAZING! Has a thick creamy consistency without any added cream (or calories). I doubled the dill. Will have this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I adapted this for a friend on a fat-free liquid diet. I didnt add the sauted onions but put in a bit of both garlic powder and onion powder. I used fat-free broth diluted a bit, pureed with a hand blender then strained it to make it clear. Not only did it meet his dietary restrictions, it was delicious! He called me asking for the recipe because his wife was eating all "his" soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I found this recipe a couple weeks ago and I've already made it twice. It is amazingly good. There is a restaurant in town here that serves tomato dill soup that everyone raves about....well, this recipe is better. It's also a very inexpensive and satisfying meal with some fresh bread or a bagel. I leave the bay leaf out because, to me, it overpowers the dill and garlic flavors. Oh, and I double the garlic, and instead of the full can of chicken broth, I do a half can and a half can of whole milk...............CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Brian Cowherd

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States