Tomato-Dill Shrimp Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I used 12 oz shrimp, 6 oz feta, regular yellow mustard, anddry dill and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Reviewer mis7up's photo inspired me to make this recipe, and it does make a beautiful bowl of "stew". I had to thin this a little with tomato juice as it was very thick, but even after thinning it, I felt as if I was eating a bowl of pasta sauce rather than stew. I will serve the leftovers over pasta. I also felt it needed a tsp of sugar and a little ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
An amazingly simple to prepare, yet extremely flavorful and hearty dish. I used tomatoes from our garden and they gave a nice freshness. I can envision substituting any shellfish or firm fish that one has on hand! The feta gives a great subtle background note and creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomsDad

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Was totally delish!. I was worried at first about the 1 cup of minced fresh parsley. But it worked out in the end. I came into a tomato delimma today. It seems I have a tomato monster in my house(a small child) who didn't seem to think I'd mind her eating 2 huge tomatoes I set aside to make with this recipe. So in my quick thinking I opened 2 standard cans of seasoned diced tomatoes, put in a strainer to strain off excess juice but reserved it just in case. And added to the one large tomato I did have to equal the 3 cups. I have to say in the end it worked. I also didn't cook my shrimp prior either. Instead, in the last 5 minutes of simmering and before adding in the cheese and parsley. I let the shrimp poach in the stew mixture, gave a few stirs and let them get pink, then added the cheese(which happened to be seasoned feta) and the parsley. Added a tad bit more liquid from the tomato juice in reserve and hmm hmm hmm. It was a winner for dinner. I did serve my family the stew over rice while I had a little bowl of it without. It was delish. Hubby said it reminded him of a shrimp with linguine style dish. So I've already been requested to make again with the linguine instead of rice. I only had one child that wouldn't attempt this only because he's very picky. But my other children ate theirs completely gone and asked for 2nds. TY it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Fabulous - this is our favorite shrimp dish, now. I find canned tomatoes work well in it, and save a bit of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
It seemed like a lot of dill for the recipe, so I used tarragon instead, about a tablespoon, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I wasn't sure I would like this--the dill gives it kind of funny smell. (Maybe I just don't like the smell of dill!) But I ended up liking it. I added extra mustard and a few shakes of cayenne pepper to spice it up, but that's personal preference, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Wow! REALLY yummy. Loved the fresh herbs, great way to use them up from your garden. Pretty easy to make too. We put it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Yummy!! I used 3 cans of seasoned diced tomatoes in place of the onion, garlic and regular tomatoes. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States