Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This is the only main dish I've gotten from this site that has actually worked out to be worth the effort. Maybe next time I'll try it with fresh tomatoes. The similarity to my mom's potroast stew (before I became a vegetarian) makes me think that potatoes and/or carrots would make a tasty addition. My dad put his stew over brown rice, but I didn't like the idea-- I think it is better over a piece of whole wheat bread or toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
This is a retaurant-quality soup. I have made this in very large quantities three or for times in the past two months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This soup was pretty good although it seemed like it was missing something. I added a little dried basil and sprinkled grated parmesean cheese on top which helped. I think it would be better made with chicken or vegetable stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Okay, I have varied this recipe several times, and all of them came out super. First, I always omit celery and substitute bell pepper. I use veg or chicken stock instead of water, and use fresh tomatoes. My favorite variation is to add a little half and half at the very last minute(do not let it fully cook), just enough to make a thick, creamy soup. I have made this for friends and family, and is a hit every time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surlysunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This was yum yum yummy! I tripled this recipe and then put in a little less garlic. (more like 6-7 cloves). Also, I added 1/2 cup coconut milk, a dollop or two of sour cream, and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper for extra zing. My man loved it and we had enough for lunches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Thanks for this really good recipe. I did add a few more vegetables that needed a home including some zucchini; I added chicken base to the water; and I sauteed the vegetables first is about a tablespoon of olive oil. Habit I guess, but I think that's better than adding half and half. I think the secret ingredient was the curry which I added more of for good measure. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I read the other reviews and took tips from each of them. I added 1 chicken breast (boiled) cut into small pieces, along with some sour cream. It was wonderful. I have never been good at making soup, but this was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I really liked it, but everyone else in my family hated it. If you are not crazy for lentils avoid this recipe. For me I would give it a 5star rating, but my family gave it a 1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Tasted great! I added potatos as well, and extra tomatoes and curry powder. Next time I am going to try adding carrot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
Pretty good stew. Children did not like but adults did. Will make agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States