Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Very very nice - perfect for a rainy afternoon. Made as directed and it was good (although a bit thick for me). Modified as follows: 1 cup lentils, 1 can chicken broth, 2 cups water, 1 can stewed tomatoes, sauteed the veggies in olive oil before adding, added carrots, a palm full of brown rice, and a small chunk of parm cheese rind. Even my grandkids wolfed it down. Thank you so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was absolutely delish! I substituded vegetable broth for water, added carrots, and a LOT more curry than the recipe called for. I served it with a dollop of plain yogurt on top, and pita bread. It was a big hit, and was even better the next day! Definitely making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I made this recipe with a couple of changes. I doubled it, added one can of beef stock (instead of water), and upped the curry powder to 1 tablespoon. It needed to simmer about 1 hr 20 min to cook the lentils, and I had to add water as the lentils cooked and absorbed some of the liquid. The end result was quite thick and tasty. I think you could substitute or add other veggies if that interests you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
We really enjoyed this. I doubled the amounts and put it over brown rice. I didn't have celery so I chopped a carrot and put it in. I also did more onion and curry, to our taste, along with a can of diced tomatoes. We'll make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Oh, my goodness! This soup is incredibly satisfying and filling. I followed the recipe for the most part, but had a 15 oz can of stewed tomatoes. It came out perfect. I will absolutely make this one again! Great cooking, Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Did not love the flavor. Very average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
YUMM. i was afraid the recipe had too much garlic, but nope, t'was delicious. (i omited celery b/c i'm not a fan). i put some grilled chicken on top for my boyfriend and it was a full meal for him. i will be making this again -- so deelish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I loved this recipe and so did my husband! I replaced the water with stock, added coconut milk, and poured it over cinnamon infused rice. Mmmm, perfect for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxMolotov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was really good the next day. I feel like the flavors all meshed together and it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Marrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Have made this several times and my husband and I love it. The recipe is great as is but I made a few changes for our taste. I cook the garlic and onions in olive oil before adding it and it really seems to bring out more flavor. I also use chicken broth instead of water and omit the celery because I rarely have it on hand. Sometimes I add chopped cooked carrots and/or cooked potatoes. I serve it with homemade wheat bread and it is such a huge treat on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States